Various artists album review
Mafia & Fluxy Present Music For Lovers Vol. 5
Mafia & Fluxy-Jet Star
June 18 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Sugar Minott - Right On Time
  2. Gregory Isaacs - Have I Sinned
  3. Richie Davis - Girl
  4. Marie Claire - Summer Nights
  5. Al Campbell - Living In A World
  6. Jimmy Riley - Keep On Calling
  7. Leroy Mafia - Always Something There
  8. Kofi - My Man
  9. Winston Reedy - Rumours
  10. Ambelique - You Were Mine
  11. Richie Davis - I Can't Afford
  12. Maria Levella - Let Me Be Your Angel
  13. Kofi - Keep You Satisfied
  14. Winston Reedy - Day & Night
  15. John Holt - Yesterday
  16. Johnny Clarke - I've Got The Handle
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

On the fifth volume of "Mafia & Fluxy Present Music For Lovers" the UK's finest riddim section and production duo present sixteen swooners for those cherished moments, when you've got to play some tunes for the one you love. This enjoyable cd has a nice mixture of veterans and Mafia & Fluxy regulars who keep it bubbling. The soulful track "Right On Time", performed by Sugar Minott in his well known inimitable style, kicks off this compilation set in fine style. The song instantly creates the right mood for lovers and sets the pace for things to come. These 'things' include enjoyable lovers rock tunes such as Gregory Isaacs' "Have I Sinned", taken from his latest album "Open The Door", Richie Davis' "Girl" and "Summer Nights" by the sensuous Marie Claire, all underpinned by the same riddim track. Also worth of hearing are Jimmy Riley's "Keep On Calling" (on an updated version of Don Carlos' "Dice Cup" riddim), the lovely Kofi covering The Sensations / Marcia Aitken classic "My Girl/Man", Ambelique's "You Were Mine" and Richie Davis' "I Can't Afford" (both coming over a refurnished version of the Wailing Souls' classic "Firehouse Rock" riddim), Winston Reedy's "Day & Night" and Maria Leville, the latter tackling Portia Morganís lovers rock anthem "Let Me Be Your Angel". Leroy Mafia does a nice rendition of Burt Bacharach & Hal David's "Always Something There To Remind Me", while John Holt brings his version of the Beatles' "Yesterday". In our opinion the latter could have been left out.
"Mafia & Fluxy Present Music For Lovers Vol. 5" is a nice collection of tunes that will surely find its way to the lovers rock fans.

Teacher & Mr. T.