Miss Lily's Family Style Vol. 1
VP Records
February 24, 2013

Miss Lilys Family Style, Vol. 1 - Various Artists Track list
  1. Sizzla - Just One Of Those Days
  2. Mr. Vegas - Mus Come A Road
  3. Gappy Ranks - Pumpkin Belly
  4. Tarrus Riley - Original Dancehall
  5. Buju Banton & Wayne Wonder - Bonafide Love
  6. Gyptian - Hold Yuh
  7. Konshens - A So Mi Tan
  8. Busy Signal - Real Spenders
  9. Vybz Kartel - Whine (Wine)
  10. Lil' Rick - Go Down
  11. Kes - Wotless
  12. Romain Virgo - Rich In Love
  13. Tanya Stephens - It's A Pity
  14. Queen Ifrica - Below The Waist
  15. Busy Signal - One More Night
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 4-
Very Good -Votes: 0-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 5
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Miss Lily's is a fashionable restaurant, bakery, juice bar and variety shop (which serves as a record store, gallery space and home to Radio Lily Internet station), located on the border of SoHo and Greenwich Village in NYC. Throughout the years Miss Lily's has become a social and cultural hub for all things Caribbean. On any given night of the week, impromptu visits and performances by reggae and dancehall legends including Jimmy Cliff, Sean Paul, Monty Alexander, Tarrus Riley, Mr. Vegas, and Beenie Man create an electric atmosphere where Jamaican musical icons can be found mingling and wining with a who's who of the fashion, arts, and entertainment worlds.

And now VP Records and Miss Lily's Variety Shop have joined forces and launch a brand new compilation entitled "Miss Lily's Family Style Vol. 1". Miss Lily’s family of DJs and tastemakers have selected sixteen songs that always "mash up the place" at Miss Lily's and many of them are actually performed by some of Miss Lily's favorite regulars. With the exception of perhaps Lil' Rick's "Go Down" and Kes' "Wotless", this compilation includes songs well known to the avid fan and followers of the reggae and dancehall scene. Apart from recent-ish hits like e.g. Mr. Vegas' 'old skool' scorcher "Mus Come A Road", Gyptian's boom shot "Hold Yuh", Konshens' chart topper "A So Mi Tan", and Busy Signal's rendition of Phil Collins' "One More Night", this set brings back real nice memories with certified classics such as Sizzla's "Just One Of Those Days" aka "Dry Cry", Tanya Stephens' "It's A Pity", and "Bonafide Love" by Buju Banton & Wayne Wonder.

Enclosed in the CD's vintage vinyl-inspired repro Studio One Dub Store Special packaging are in-depth liner notes written by reggae journalist and Radio Lily resident Rob Kenner along with a free download card of a 43-minute mix by Miss Lily's own DJ Max Glazer. Glazer executively produced the album along with one of Miss Lily's founding partners, Paul Salmon, who also owns Jamaica's award-winning Rockhouse Hotel and co-founded Joe's Pub in NYC.