More Pressure Vol. 1 ~ Straight To The Head
Pressure Sounds
CD / 2LP
February 13, 2006

Track list
  1. Diverse Doctrine - Ras Ibuna
  2. Diverse Doctrine Version - The Village Bunch
  3. The Way It Is - Ricky Storm (I Kong)
  4. The Way It Is Version - Ricky Storm (I Kong)
  5. We Shall Overcome - Michael Rose
  6. Over Come - The Key
  7. Skyjack - Bongo Gene
  8. Skyjack Version - - Bongo Gene All Stars
  9. Free Meal Ticket - Cornell Campbell
  10. The Winner (12 Inch Version) - Barrington Levy
  11. Nuh Chuck It - Dillinger
  12. Chucky Dub - The Hardy Boys
  13. Free For All - Tafari All Stars
  14. All For Free - Tafari All Stars
  15. Folk Song - Uhuru (The Sound Of Freedom)
  16. Folk Song Version - The Freedom Singers
  17. Eight Against Rome Version - The Mercenaries
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
Just when you thought the re-issue market had run dry, just as you thought there were no more surprises left in the vaults besides hyped - but best left buried second rate B sides... think again! Pressure Sounds come back with perhaps their best album since "Kool Roots" and "Voodooism". No need for rhetoric or hyperbole -- this music speaks for itself and there is not one single bad track or dull moment on the entire record, from the moment its opening notes, drum roll and bass kick drop, to the final dub, "Eight Against Rome", an outrageous take on "Death in the Arena." A well worn track, you may think -- surely no need to hear yet another version. Think again. This is pure sheet metal shredding force and abstract power, with Shaka-like high frequency tones ripping a course through the centre of the composition.

Another shocking surprise is "The Way It Is", which audaciously versions... wait for it... Blondie's "Rapture"... and believe it or not, it works beautifully, transforming the kitsch and schmaltzy original into a work of poetry and elegiac beauty.

"Skyjack" is a meditative revelation to these ears, and sounds so very like a track of Bullwackie's "African Roots". Did Wackie borrow the vocal track and dub it?

"Free Meal Ticket" is a Rockers version of Cornell Campbell's Afro Cuban edged "Me No Born Yah", and the Tafari Syndicate tune "Free For All", is the raw funk scything guitar track which features on the Pressure Sounds website.

This is hands down one of the best re-issues of the last five years. One might even stretch that and state it is one of the best re-issues of the last decade. No fat on this one, just raw, lean soulful roots and innovative dub -- not the tired second rate, imitative and strictly conservative dub we repeatedly hear in 2006, but the heart and soul of the original form, pristine, perfect and audacious.