Various artists album review
Morgan Heritage Family & Friends Vol. 1
HMG Records-Artists Only! Records
24 - 02 - 1999

Tracking list

  1. Morgan Heritage - Liberation
  2. Capleton - Jah Jah City
  3. LMS - Never
  4. Stevie Culture - No More
  5. Jah Cure - Love The Solution
  6. Ras Shiloh - Unto Zion
  7. Denroy Morgan - Link Up
  8. Toots Hibbert & Morgan Heritage - Fellowship
  9. Pinchers - Say Jah
  10. Jahmali - Naturality
  11. Military Man - Give Thanks
  12. Jackwell Miyah - Ethiopian Prayer
  13. Don Marshall - Greetings
  14. Adigun Minkaha - A True Mi Black
  15. Prince Theo - Can't Forget The Times
  16. Bushman - Truly Great
  17. Mikal Asher - Chant
  18. Moses I - Natural Beauty
  19. Various - Mount Zion Medley (Bonus Track)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

In recent years Morgan Heritage have managed to attract notable interest with their high quality "roots and culture" music, which actually made this unique band one of the most prominent representatives of the "roots revival" in the nineties. They have delivered plenty of excellent tunes on a variety of labels including Bobby "Digital" Dixon's "Brickwall" and "Digital B" label, Donovan Germain's "Penthouse Records", King Jammy's "Jammy$" imprint and Phillip "Fatis" Burrell's "Xterminator" label. Recently they built out their activities as they - in association with their father Denroy Morgan - started to produce and release music on their own "HMG Records" label.
Their first self-produced 12" single "Liberation" / "Mount Zion Medley" - an awesome slab of vinyl that proved extremely popular in the past months - was soon followed by several pieces on 7" single and this compilation set entitled Morgan Heritage Friends & Family Vol. 1. The album collects 18 cuts (+ 1 edited megamix as a bonus) across the "Liberation" riddim, a quality piece of contemporary roots music played by "live" musicians with real instruments. A selection of first rate artists and some lesser known but nevertheless promising newcomers are included, which makes the roll call impressive and extended as well. The album kicks off with the wicked Liberation - featuring Morgan Heritage in full effect singing of the spirit of righteousness that consistently emerges through the talented youth of the African diaspora in the West Indies including the so sorely missed Bob Marley, Jacob Miller and Garnett Silk and those still with us: Sizzla, Luciano and of course the Morgans themselves - and ends up in the truly incredible mega mix called "Mount Zion Medley" featuring some of the most exciting names in contemporary roots reggae. In between we get full length versions of the tunes used in the "Medley", all being essential cuts ! Furthermore there's an excellent effort from veteran Toots Hibbert who really puts out an exciting performance on such a riddim. Prince Theo, Mikal Asher and Moses I can be credited for the most noteworthy efforts delivered by the newcomers amongst the artists on this album.
Morgan Heritage Friends & Family Vol. 1 is strongly recommended to all roots fans, 'cause this is pure fire...and truly... no weak track to be found !!

Teacher & Mr. T.