Motion Dub Special ~ Classic Dubs 1974-1978
King Tubby & Friends
Motion Records
April 14, 2006

Track list
  1. King Tubby And Jacob Miller - Dreada Dread Dub
  2. Linval Thompson And John Holt - Clock Face Dub
  3. King Tubby And Skatalites - Fugitive Dub
  4. King Tubby And Larry Marshall - Watergate Rock
  5. King Tubby And Dennis Brown - Travelling Version
  6. King Tubby And Skatalites - Middle East Dub
  7. Chantells And Barnabas - Sister Fay Version
  8. Gregory Isaacs And Gussie Clarke - Loving Pauper
  9. King Tubby And Jacob Miller - City Of The Weak Heart Dub
  10. King Tubby And Larry Marshall - Thelma Dub
  11. Delroy Wilson And Gussie Clarke - Black Foundation
  12. Chantells And Jah Berry - Waiting In The Park And Version
  13. King Tubby And Skatalites - Whispering Dub
  14. Rockstones And Niney The Observer - Jah For I
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
Motion Records is a small independent UK record label run by enthusiasts. They specialise in vintage reggae & dub, where their approach is one of quality rather than quantity. In the past years they have released several top-notch albums such as :
  • Various - We Are Getting Bad ~ The Sound Of Phase One Read Review
  • Niney The Observer - Sledgehammer Dub
  • Read Review
  • Linval Thompson - Phoenix Dub
  • Read Review
  • The Skatalites - Legendary Skatalites In Dub
  • Read Review
  • Augustus Clarke - Black Foundation Dub
  • Read Review
  • Lee Scratch Perry - Born In The Sky (Upsetter at the Controls 1969-75)
  • Read Review
  • King Tubbys Meets Larry Marshall - I Admire You In Dub
  • Read Review
  • Various - The Sound Of Channel One - King Tubby Connection
  • Read Review
Their current release - "Motion Dub Special ~ Classic Dubs 1974-1978" - is a mid-price compilation, filled with selections drawn from their previous releases and the forthcoming re-issue of a real 'lost' dub classic from 1976 re-titled "King Tubby Meets Jacob Miller In A Tenement Yard". The latter is known by collectors as "E-E Saw Dub", which originally came in a plain sleeve and was incorrectly labelled as an E-E Saw 12" single "City Of The Weak Heart" by Earl Zero. In fact this album contained twelve killer Jacob Miller / Fatman Rhythm Section riddims dubbed by King Tubby. Also included is the bonus track "Jah For I", a previously unreleased exclusive Niney The Observer dubplate. This sampler contains tracks from the period 1974-1978, when reggae became more and more popular worldwide, and Jamaican artists as well as producers delivered some of their best pieces of work. No need to run down the track listing 'cause every track is a gem in its on way, pure solid gold!

Check out the list of releases above and read the reviews of the seperate albums... We're sure you will become a fan of Motion Records. Enjoy!