Nexus Dub
January 23, 2015

Track list
  1. Sylvan Morris - Sugar Plum Dub
  2. King Tubby - Dub Pieces (First Session)
  3. Scientist - Turning Dub
  4. Prince Jammy - Chalice Dub
  5. Professor - Inheritance Dub
  6. Bunny Tom Tom - I Done It Dub
  7. King Tubby - Sufferers Choice Dub (Third Session)
  8. Professor - Mind Blowing Dub
  9. Scientist - Happy Hours Dub
  10. Ernest Hoo-Kim - Dub Sweat
  11. King Tubby - Ghetto Dub (First Session)
  12. Soljie - My Love Life Dub
  13. Scientist - Jah Jah Give Us Dub
  14. Bunny Tom Tom - OK Carol Dub
  15. Prince Jammy - Negus Dub
  16. Ernest Hoo-Kim - Freedom Fighters Dub
  17. Barnabas - Ear Say Dub
  18. Sylvan Morris - Miss 'P' Dub
  19. Errol 'ET' Thompson - Old Time Dub (Second Session)
  20. Professor - Dub School
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
Prolific producer Roy Cousins has released a staggering amount of vocal albums, but he's probably also one of the very few producers whose output of dub albums isn't easily equalled. Of course, not all of the about 20 dub albums are interesting and of real good quality, but some of them are. They include the Pressure Sounds release "Dubbing With The Royals" and this "Nexus Dub" album.

"Nexus Dub" offers the listener dub versions of tunes from the vocal group The Royals, of whom Roy Cousins was a core member, as well as dubs from Roy Cousins' other production work with people like Earl Sixteen, Charlie Chaplin, I Roy and Cornell Campbell. The tracks included on this album are dubbed up versions of some of the strongest riddims to be found in his extensive catalogue. The bulk of the material featured here was mixed throughout the 1970s by some of the most relevant dub engineers in the genre's history: Sylvan Morris, King Tubby, Prince Jammy, Crucial Bunny Tom Tom, Scientist, Errol 'ET' Thompson, and Barnabas. It makes this collection of dubs interesting to listen to as it gives a great overview of the different styles of dubbing up tracks these people had.

This 'dub excursion' gets started in real fine style with a dub version of Earl Sixteen's "Sugar Love" called "Sugar Plum Dub", which was done by Sylvan Morris of Studio One/Harry J fame in 1979. He was also the mixing engineer of "Miss 'P' Dub", a great dub piece of Earl Sixteen's "Hey Girl". Also the dub originator, Mr. Osbourne Ruddock aka King Tubby, is present here with three dub versions of songs done by The Royals. First there's "Dub Pieces", a dub workout of the much versioned "Pick Up The Pieces", followed by "Sufferer's Choice Dub" ("Sufferer Of The Ghetto") and "Ghetto Dub" ("Ghetto Man", and also "Heart In Pain"). With regard to King Tubby, it's also interesting that this set includes "Old Time Dub", an Errol "ET" Thompson dub version of Lloyd Ruddock's "Genuine Way", a single recorded by King Tubby's son for Roy Cousins' Wambesi label.

Crucial Bunny Tom Tom's awesome "I Done It Dub", which has no vocals, is the dub to Charlie Chaplin's "One Of A Kind", Earl Sixteen's "Crisis" and also Junior Reid's "Oh Happy Day". Another standout track is Scientist's pounding dub version of Cornell Campbell's wicked stepper "Jah Jah Give Us Love". This is classic dub in all its glory!! Also great to hear are "Mind Blowing Dub" and "Dub School", both done by Professor. In these two dub versions the vocals of Earl Sixteen float in and out the mix. "Mind Blowing Dub" is a wicked dub to Earl Sixteen's "Mind Drifting", while "Dub School" is the dub to the singer's song "Reggae Rock" (on the same riddim as The Royals' "If You Want Good").

A good dub album that you shouldn't miss out if you're a fan of vintage dub material.