Various artists album review
Nice An' Ruff
Music Club

Tracking list

  1. Black Uhuru - Sun Is Shining
  2. K.C. White - No, No, No
  3. Gregory Isaacs - Village Of The Under-Priviliged
  4. Dennis Brown - Things In Life
  5. Abyssinians - Y Mas Gan
  6. Albert Griffiths & The Gladiators - Bongo Red
  7. Culture - Capture Rasta
  8. Mutabaruka - Set De Prisoners Free
  9. Augustus Pablo - Dub Organizer
  10. I Roy - Maggie Breast
  11. Lord Creator - Kingston Town
  12. Melodians - Swing And Dine
  13. Gregory Isaacs - Love Is Overdue
  14. Meditations - Woman Is Like A Shadow
  15. Horace Andy - Girl I Love You
  16. Sugar Minott - Good Thing Going
  17. Tamlins - Baltimore
  18. Sly & Robbie - Triplet
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4

Subtitled "A Crucial Brew of Roots, Dub And Rockers" this compilation set gathers some of the finest moments in reggae music from the seventies up to the early eighties drawn from the catalogue of the U.S.-based HeartBeat label. Most of the artists included have established themselves a name with the kind of music that truly can stand the test of time as one can witness when playing this album. Solo performers like the "cool ruler" Gregory Isaacs", "the crownprince of reggae" Dennis Brown (who delivered his "Things In Life" at the age of 15), Horace "Sleepy" Andy and Sugar Minott - still active, popular and successful nowadays - contribute classic songs, already well known and loved by the older reggae fans. Of course, great vocal groups are represented as well bringing to mind the dreader harmonies from the heydays of roots reggae and they still sound fresh today as they did then. Furthermore the compilers haven't neglected influential musicians/producers like Augustus Pablo and the riddim twins Sly & Robbie. They fully showcase their skill and talents on an instrumental/dub cut. Quality music on a nice compilation set !

Teacher & Mr. T.