Various artists album review
None A Jah Jah Children
Firehouse Crew-Reggae One Luv
CD / 2LP
26 - 02 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Kirk Davis - Only Jah We Praise
  2. Richie Spice - Trouble De Abroad
  3. Spectacular - Baby Mother
  4. Tuffest, Danny English & Mr. Pang - Mash Up And Down
  5. George Nooks - Real Love
  6. Luciano - Break Down
  7. Sizzla - Future
  8. Delly Ranks - Gimme Di Weed
  9. Anthony B - None A Jah Jah Children
  10. Junior Kelly - Black Am I
  11. Tony Rebel - Four Corners
  12. Anthony Redrose - Ethnic Cleansing
  13. Chrisinti - On A Mission
  14. Liggo - Rude Boys
  15. Power Man - God Bless Di Woman
  16. Mikey General - Rise Up
  17. Nitty Kutchie - Spread Love Around
  18. Tony Rebel - Reasonin With
  19. Junior Kelly - Black Am I - Remix
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

The various artists compilation set "None A Jah Jah Children" gathers nineteen solid to excellent conscious cuts over an entertaining remake of Ras Michael & The Sons of Negus's original chant and hit single from 1975, "None Of Jah Jah Children No Cry". The revitalized riddim track was laid by one of Jamaica's best studio bands, the renown Firehouse Crew, consisting of core members Donald "Mr. Biggs" Dennis (bass), Mitchum Chin (guitar), Paul "Rightmove" Crosdale (keyboards) and George "Dusty" Miller (drums), the latter also being the producer of this set. On many of the featured tracks the Fisehouse Crew is joined by great sax player Dean Fraser and female backing singers Connie Campbell, Althea Layne-Hamilton and Sherida Sharpe, while mixing and recording engineers include Noel "Simple" Burrel and Tixie alongside renown Bobby "Digital" and "Bulby" York. The line up of artists who have voiced the riddim includes some well respected top artists from Reggae's roots & culture camp as well as some very talented artists like for example Spectacular, Chrisinti and the - from our point of view - heavily underrated Nitty Kutchie.
Beenie Man's brother Kirk Davis, formerly known as Little Kirk, kicks off the album for the vocal representatives. With tunes like "Life" and "The Road Is Rocky" he has proven that he can deliver a solid conscious effort and "Only Jah We Praise" is no exception. Although Richie Spice has attracted attention with some notable conscious tunes he still has to achieve a breakthrough to a wide audience. His "Trouble De Abroad" fully lives up to expectations and is one of the standouts on this set. Reggae veteran and hit maker George Nooks contributes an above average effort entitled "Real Love", while the "Messenjah" Luciano teams up with his former show band for the very enjoyable "Break Down". Every now and then Anthony Redrose manages to bring a notable effort as is the case with the excellent "Ethnic Cleansing", a message tune with a lyrical delivery that keeps one involved till the very end. With "On A Mission" Chrisinti underlines that he's a much promising artist to look for in the near future. Roots singer par excellence Mikey General shines in "Rise Up", which is followed by Nitty Kutchie's matching cut "Spread Love Around".
Then the singjay/deejay parade... Newcomer Spectacular makes a decent impression with "Baby Mother" and the same goes for the combination Tuffest, Danny English & Mr. Pang. In our opinion Sizzla hardly ever fails to leave a good impression when he performs over a live played roots riddim and with "Future" he proves it once again. Dancehall deejay Delly Ranks delivers a nice herb tune over an echo-laden version of the riddim before Anthony B's title track drops which happens to be a good rendition of the original. However, the undisputed killer tune on this set is Junior Kelly's awesome "Black Am I", one of his best tunes to date! The only artist with two different pieces across the riddim, Tony Rebel, impresses twice. First with a powerful warning to all mankind entitled "Four Corners" and then with the nyahbinghi flavored "Reasonin", which needs a careful listening! Also present is the unknown Liggo, who delivers a decent effort asking the "Rude Boys" to behave themselves. Power Man is probably best known for his dancehall pieces, but here he shows that he's equally at home with uplifting music as he praises all the women in his solid "God Bless Di Woman".
The "None A Jah Jah Children" set contains songs to uplift, songs to inspire and songs to entertain. So, if you love modern roots with cutting edge culture make sure to check it out!

Teacher & Mr. T.