Obsessive Happiness Riddim
Deja Vu Records
Digital Release
November 27, 2012

Track list
  1. Shari - Obsessive Hapiness
  2. Da’ville - Ur Swagg
  3. Pressure Busspipe - I Love You
  4. Chuck Fender - Tribulation Life Brings
  5. Lutan Fyah - Jah Love Is
  6. Sophia Brown - Love Is Blind
  7. Ginjah - Gone Too Soon
  8. Macka Diamond - Million Fi Di Year
  9. Anthony Q - Your Skin
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Deja Vu Records, a label founded by four friends that grew in Jamaica, has digitally released their latest juggling riddim called "Obsessive Happiness". The latter, a fresh original 'one drop', is one of those riddims that, although sounding real nice, doesn't cause real excitement. It simply ripples along and that's about it.

If a riddim isn't that impressive, it are the artists who have come to voice it that should make a collection interesting enough to keep the listener involved. Luckily this set features some real fine vocalists who prevent that signs of boredom come up. The title track is delivered by rather unknown songstress Shari, who has a wonderful voice. And although she does a good job, her tune is outmatched by Da'Ville's "Ur Swagg", even though its autotune part ain't really appealing to us. We'd rather like to hear Pressure Busspipe singing reality or message tunes, cause he hardly ever comes up with a noteworthy love tune, and "I Love You" is no exception. Both Chuck Fender and Lutan Fyah bring a far better effort with "Tribulation Life Brings" and "Jah Love Is" respectively. Especially Lutan Fyah's "Jah Love Is" makes a real good impression. Of the remaining artists it's Ginjah who tears it up with the moving "Gone Too Soon".

All in all a nice 'one riddim' set, but surely not one that will stand the test of time.