Old To The New: Special Deluxe Edition
17 North Parade
September 28, 2008

Mykal Rose - Super Deluxe Edition: Old to the New Track list
  1. JC Lodge & Junior Kelly-Love You Like That
  2. Culture & Anthony B-Two Sevens Clash
  3. Sean Paul & Sasha-I'm Still In Love With You
  4. Mighty Diamonds & Luciano-Identity
  5. Barrington Levy & Cecile-My Woman
  6. Beres Hammond & U Roy-Ain't That Loving You
  7. Culture-I'm Not Ashamed
  8. Mykal Rose-Rent Man
  9. Richie Stephens-How Could I Leave
  10. Freddie McGregor-Should I
  11. George Nooks-Left With A Broken Heart
  12. Glen Washington-Money In My Pocket
  13. Barrington Levy-My Woman
  14. JC Lodge-Someone Loves You Honey
  1. J.C.Lodge & Prince Mohammed - Someone Loves You Honey / One Time Daughter
  2. Culture - Two Sevens Clash
  3. Marcia Aitken & Trinity - I'm Still In Love With You / Three Piece Suit
  4. The Mighty Diamonds - Identity
  5. Barrington Levy With Kojak & Liza - My Woman / Ten Thousand Woman
  6. Dennis Brown With Kojak & Liza - Ain't That Loving You / Hole In The Bucket
  7. Culture & I Roy - I'm Not Ashamed
  8. Black Uhuru & Jah Grundy - Rent Man / Resident Area
  9. Dennis Brown - How Could I Leave
  10. Dennis Brown - Should I
  11. George Nooks - Left With A Broken Heart
  12. Dennis Brown & Prince Mohammed - Money In My Pocket / Cool Runnings
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
When Steely & Clevie recorded an album of Studio One recreations using several veteran artists who'd helped producer Coxsone Dodd celebrate thirty-five years of his famous label in 1992, the results would reverberate throughout the entire reggae industry. Leading sound systems began searching out long-forgotten artists to voice specials, and revival shows proliferated in Jamaica, where history is traditionally measured in weeks, and only rarely decades. The sessions for this same album also yielded the re-cut version of Dawn Penn's "No, No, No" that would subsequently prove a worldwide hit two years later, surprising everyone who'd thought a classic rub-a-dub tune stood no chance amidst competition from younger dancehall stars like Shabba Ranks or Buju Banton.

VP Records' A&R director Murray Elias approached the duo to reinterpret some classic Joe Gibbs' tracks in late 1999, having already chosen every track and listed his favorite artists before recording began in the fall of 2000. The remarkable career of Joe Gibbs stretches back to the 1960s in the early beginnings of rocksteady music. Working with artists like Lee "Scratch" Perry, The Heptones, Dennis Brown, Mr. Gibbs would become one of the most important producers in pioneering reggae music. Hits like Money In My Pocket by Dennis Brown, Culture’s Two Sevens Clash and Barrington Levy’s My Woman are just a few examples of his musical genius.

On the "Old To The New: Special Deluxe Edition" compilation, the respected duo Steely & Clevie show their respect towards producer Joe Gibbs as the project takes the 'old' Joe Gibbs classic tunes from the 1970s – '80s and gives them a modern 'new' spin with current artists like Sean Paul, Anthony B, Beres Hammond and more. The selection of new classic songs on this album is only surpassed by the array of talented vocalists. The line up features both the original recording artists on remakes of their earlier hits and combinations or solo outings by both the original artists as well many of contemporary reggae’s biggest stars.

The album kicks off with JC Lodge's worldwide hit "Someone Love You Honey", here renamed to Love You Like That, delivered alongside singjay Junior Kelly. The song was a hit for black C&W singer Charlie Pride, and marked the end of Joe Gibbs' activities as a costly legal battle concerning unpaid royalties over the song finally brought an end to recordings from Joe Gibbs. The combination Culture and Anthony B sounds great on the seminal Two Sevens Clash. Sweet lovers rock by Sean Paul and Sasha in I'm Still In Love With You, an Alton Ellis song that delivered the riddim for many hit tunes. Highlight of the album is the combination Luciano and Mighty Diamonds. They take up the hit Identity, a strong cultural tune that hasn't lost any of its impact.

From 1980 comes My Woman by Barrington Levy, here done in combination with Ce'Cile. Beres Hammond and U Roy's interpretation of Alton Ellis' Ain't That Loving You is strong and the late Joseph "Culture" Hill, one of reggae's greatest roots singers, does an updated version of his 1977 song I'm Not Ashamed. Mykal Rose's haunting vocals and the powerful reality lyrics make Rent Man one of Black Uhuru's finest tunes, while Freddie McGregor does an excellent job re-creating Dennis Brown's Should I. The Motown soul band, The Four Tops, had a hit with "Left With A Broken Heart" and many Jamaican versions followed. Here George Nooks, aka Prince Mohammed, delivers a decent version. Glen 'Rockers Nuh Crackers' Washington brings a fine rendition of Dennis Brown's best known tune Money In My Pocket. The disc closes with two alternate solo versions of Barrington Levy's My Woman and JC Lodge's Someone Loves You Honey.

This 'Special Deluxe Edition' has 12 new tunes on the album. Now it finally lives up to its title, all the old en new are available on this set. The first song added onto the 'Deluxe' set is Someone Loves You Honey/One Time Daughter done by JC Lodge and Prince Mohammed. A fine mix, the only complaint is that they added this song right after the original Someone Love You Honey. Also featured here is the original mix of Two Sevens Clash, a true classic which is a great addition to the album. Before Sean Paul and Sasha did their cover of I'm Still In Love With You there was Marcia Aitken who did this great song. On this mix the also fantastic song Three Piece Suit by Trinity has been added, which evolved into a massive track. The roots classic Identity done by The Mighty Diamonds is also included. Barrington Levy's early version of My Woman is delivered here together with Kojak & Liza. Personally I think the revived version is a better piece of music.

Ain't That Loving You/Hole In The Bucket is the next song and a sure shot classic done by the late great Dennis Brown himself supported by Kojak & Liza. It's a great addition to this set. The 12 inch version of I'm Not Ashamed from Culture, complete with a toast by the mighty I Roy, makes it the finest tune on this album. Black Uhuru and Jah Grundy do the original version of Rent Man/Resident Area which was previously on the album performed by Michael Rose. Furthermore two originals - How Could I Leave and Should I - by Dennis Brown are included this time. Left With A Broken Heart is just the same tune but inna different style, again nicely performed by George Nooks. The superb ending track is Money In My Pocket/Cool Runnings performed by Dennis Brown and deejay Prince Mohammed.

All in all this is a must have for every reggae fan, and also a great box for the reggae fan who is not familiar with the works of Joe Gibbs.