Various artists album review
Nice & Ruff Nr. 5: Operation Attack Babylon
Jet Star
11 - 09 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Glen Washington - Shut It Off
  2. Kashief Lindo - Tear Down The Wall Of Babylon
  3. Marcia Griffiths - Unite Unite Unite
  4. Michael Rose - Out To Survive
  5. Al Campbell - Buss Dem Case
  6. Ras Mega - Babylon Dumkings A Go Fall
  7. Tinga Stewart - Babylon
  8. Screw Driver - Nah Bow To The System
  9. Nikesha - There's Gonna Be Peace
  10. Mical Rustle - Jah Real
  11. Jimmy Riley - Change
  12. Kashief Lindo - Somethings Got To Be Done
  13. Willie Lindo - Beat Down Babylon
  14. Shauna La Touche - Live In Harmony
  15. Dennis Alcapone & Mikey Brooks - Babylon Falling
  16. Dennis Alcapone & Tinga Stewart - Who A The Savage
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

The album whith the somewhat strange name 'Operation Attack Babylon Nr. 5 Nice & Ruff' contains some 16 tracks across the refreshingly 2001 style cut to Junior Byles' classic "Beat Down Babylon". The tunes are produced by ace producer Willie Lindo, who usually comes up with melodic and soulfull tunes delivered by Jamaica's biggest artists. Here you'll find some of those big names next to unknown talents such as the female vocalist Shauna La Touche who brings the excellent cut Live In Harmony, the deejay Ras Mega with Babylon Dumkings A Go Fall and Mical Rustle who comes up strong with Jah Real. The dynamic Glen Washington opens the album with a strong track (does he ever deliver a real weak track?) entitled Shut It Off. Willie Lindo's son is present here with two licks of the riddim, the track Tear Down The Wall Of Babylon being one of our favourite tracks. Also reggae veteran Al Campbell has no problem with the riddim as he puts out his masterpiece Buss Dem Case. Further gems found here are Michael Rose's Out To Survive and the two Dennis Alcapone combination tunes.
"Operation Attack Babylon Nr. 5 Nice & Ruff" is a fine one riddim album.

Teacher & Mr. T.