Solid Ground Riddim
Addis Records
October 15, 2006

Track list
  1. Change - Fantan Mojah
  2. Overdue - Luciano
  3. Do You Know - Turbulence
  4. Mr. Jacket & Tie - Jennifer Barrett
  5. 8 Gangsters - Perfect
  6. Jah Would Never - Cali P.
  7. Get Ready - Natural Black
  8. For Surely - Mr. Easy
  9. Solid Ground Version - Jil Addis
  10. Solid Dub - Jil Addis
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
After Swiss roots reggae producers and Addis Record owners Jil and Stuff got a lot of critical acclaim and respect from the roots massive for the instrumental reggae album "Kingston Sessions" released under their Restless Mashaits moniker, they have been releasing a couple series of 7"s on roots riddims. First there was at the end of 2002 the 'More Redemption'-riddim voiced by Mark Wonder, Natural Black, Jennifer Barrett and Turbulence, in 2003 they produced the 'Frontline'-riddim featuring Admiral Tibett, Chezidek, Mark Wonder, Turbulence and Natural Black, and then in May 2004 the excellent selection over the 'King Of The Nile'-riddim, voiced by Luciano, Junior Kelly, Luton Fyah, Jennifer Barrett and Natural Black as well as the album tune "Last Days" over it on Ras Mac Bean's debut album "Pack Up And Leave". In May 2005 they released the well-crafted 'The Heat'-riddim, and just before the end of 2005 an excellent batch of singles over their latest 'Solid Ground'-riddim was released. This 'Solid Ground'-riddim, laid with the assistance of reggae-legend Dean Fraser and Firehouse Crew bass- and keyboardplayer Donald Dennis, was in no way less impressive than some of the most impressive one-drop riddims that ruled Jamaica in 2005. And Jil & Stuff managed to voice two of the hottest Jamaican roots artists for the first time over one of their riddims. Besides the already reviewed five tunes released as 7", Fantan Mojah's excellent "Change", Luciano at his smooth best on "(Love Is) Overdue", Jennifer Barrett, the often on Jil & Stuff productions featured female vocalist, delivering one of the best tunes I ever heard from her with the great "Mr. Jacket & Tie", Perfect's very impressive rebuke of the leaders of the world "8 Gangsters" and Natural Black's warning for the coming Armagideon "Get Ready", as well as the clean "Solid Ground (Version)" with some great Dean Fraser saxophone playing over it, there are four new tunes added, that are of the same outstanding quality. Turbulence in his fierce style of delivery contributes the scorcher "Do You Know", a heartfelt sufferers tune, while Swiss (Guadelope born) roots dancehall singer Cali P. proves he should be releasing a debut album soon, adding another fine tune to his oeuvre confirming his faith in Jah with "Jah Would Never", before Mr. Easy, the second big surprise among the new tunes delivers the last new vocal, the great lovers tune "For Surely" warning all the brothers noone can take his lady. The - presumably by Colin 'Bulby' York mixed - "Solid Dub" is the icing on the cake on this album, a great oldschool echo-laden dub stripping down the riddim to its bare essence with just snatches of Dean Fraser's wonderful sax melody on top. It's great that this fantastic riddim with these great tunes on it is finally available for the non 7" buyers as well. If you haven't gotten the 7"s, or if you want to get the new tunes and the fabulous dub, you have no excuse not to buy this album.