Various artists album review
Studio One Presents Tribute To Peckings
Studio One
15 - 06 - 1998

Tracking list

  1. Heptones - Ting-a-ling
  2. Cornell Campbell - Send me some loving
  3. Freddie McGregor - Wise words
  4. Reuben Alexander - Meditation
  5. Cedric Brooks - Major walk
  6. Owen Gray - How much I love you
  7. Lloyd Charmers - Time is getting hard
  8. Silvertones - Everyday is a holiday
  9. Freddie McGregor - I don't know
  10. Owen Gray - Time marches on
  11. Winston Francis - La la means I love you
  12. Don D. Junior - Every night
  13. Lilly White & Sound Dimension - Over flow
  14. Roland Alphonso - Last call
  15. Sammy Davis - Corn meal duckunu
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 3/4 Sleeve : 3/4

Appearing for the first time on CD and different from the vinyl version, this issue of "Studio One Presents Tribute To Peckings". Leroy George Price, affectionately known to all as Peckings - a nickname he received after popularising a dance of that name back in the fifties in Jamaica - oversaw Coxsone Dodd's affairs out of his legendary emporium in Shepherds Bush, London, from the late sixties until his passing in november 1994. Compiled by his son Chris this album is a fitting testimony to his late father and contains a crucial selection of many of Peckings' favorite Studio One tunes including the rare and beautiful original cut of the Heptones' Ting A Ling, Lloyd Charmers excellent sufferer's lament Time is getting hard, the legendary overdubbed version of Roland Alphonso's Last call that Jah Shaka used to run on dub and Over flow, Lilly White & Sound Dimension's new instrumental version on the "Full Up" riddim. Also included are two fine tracks, sung by a young Freddie McGregor, Wise Words an emotional rendition of Cat Stevens' Wild World and I don't know.
This is an excellent collection of scarce and previously unreleased Studio One classics.

Teacher & Mr. T.