Various artists album review
Platinum Reggae Hits 2003
Tha Jam Records
2 CD
20 - 07 - 2003

Tracking list - Disc 1

  1. Intro
  2. Bounty Killer - Real Killa
  3. Determine - Blazing
  4. Flecha B - Crosses
  5. Turbulence - I Love Her So
  6. Desperado - Stop The Abuse
  7. Bugle - Mya
  8. Patchie & Shadoo - Some Gal Lame
  9. Mr. G - Girls Dem Sexy
  10. Captain Barkey & General B - Old
  11. Bounty Killer - Wave Dem
  12. Elephant Man - All The Style
  13. Danny English, Egg Nog & Mr. Phang - Like Fire
  14. Voice Mail - Find One
  15. Desperado - Shine
  16. Powerman - Bun Dem Hard
  17. Patchie - You Not Sharing
  18. Alozade - Soar The Volume
  19. Turbulence - She's Wonderful
  20. Bushman - Hard To Get
  21. Cutty Ranks - What A Gwaan
  22. Outro
Tracking list - Disc 2
  1. Jazzy T (Renaissance Sound) - Continuous Mega Mix
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

Tha Jam Records has unleashed the first installment in their new massive double CD series. Platinum Reggae Hits 2003 includes seven of the finest new recently released bashment riddims and cuts from the biggest reggae/dancehall artists such as Bounty Killer, Elephant Man and Bushman alongside material from promising newcomers like Flecha B, Desperado and Voice Mail. Producers on board are Chad "Goofy" Simpson, Mark Hudson, Cardiff "Degree" Butt, Arif Cooper and Marlon Cooke. Disc one contains 20 full length tracks, while disc two features a bonus continuous megamix CD with mixmaster Jazzy T from Renaissance Sound System in full action. After a nice "Intro" we're treated to the wicked "Escalade" riddim, with Bounty Killer and Determine delivering the best efforts. Stone Cold's "Knock Out" riddim is the ultimate "Rumble In The Jungle" thing, fast paced, punchy and hard-hitting and delivering serious blows to the dancefloors all over the world. It already appeared on compilation cd's, but the three tracks featured here we're never included. Desperado's "Stop The Abuse" and Bugle's "Mya" are nice punches, but the most hard hitting punch comes from the combination Patchie & Shadoo. We're not that impressed by the "Furnace" and also the two tunes across the riddim, "Girls Dem Sexy" by Mr. G and "Old" by Captain Barkey & General B, are rather mediocre efforts. Next drops the "Snappa", a more melodic riddim which treats us to two great tunes : Bounty Killer's Wave Dem" and "All The Style" by Elephant Man. Then three cuts for the "Mix" riddim with Voice Mail's "Find One" being the most entertaining. Also three efforts across the Marlon Cooke produced "Primetime". Powerman's excellent "Bun Dem Hard" is followed by matching tunes from Patchie and Alozade. Disc one rounds off with a different vibe as we're treated to three enjoyable cuts across a nice revitalized version of Dennis Brown's "Money In My Pocket" riddim. Turbulence and Bushman come up with a lovers tune, while Cutty Ranks delivers a notable conscious tune.

Teacher & Mr. T.