Various artists album review
Planet Reggae Vol. 2
VP Records / Walboomers Music
12 - 02 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Lexxus - Ring Mi Cellie
  2. Madd Anju - Wah Dis Fadah
  3. Capleton - Who Dem ?
  4. Mr. Vegas & Elephant Man - Bun It
  5. Chrissie D. - Rain Again
  6. Tanto Metro & Devonte - Teaser
  7. Lexxus & Ward 21 - Divine Reasoning
  8. Capleton - Turn & Spin
  9. Beenie Man - Hundred Dollar Bag
  10. Sizzla - Bun Him Up
  11. Sean Paul - Check It Deeply
  12. Mad Cobra - Mek Mi Se Di Gal Dem
  13. Beenie Man - Crazy Notion
  14. Ward 21 - Vagina
  15. Wayne Wonder - Keep Forgetting
  16. Gabrielle - Long Plain & Straight
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

The second installment of VP Records' "Planet Reggae" series collects strictly Dancehall music featuring the hottest riddims of the day, produced by some of today's leading production houses like Q45, King Jammy$ and Mo Music as well as up-and-coming new producers, who actually also happen to be the present Dancehall stars. The latter include Goofy (Youngblood Productions), Degree (Size8 Productions) and Mr. Vegas (In The Streetz Productions). Utilizing such riddims as "Dirty Money", "Bellyas", "Antz", "Crash" and "Headache 2" top ranking stars like Beenie Man, Capleton, Mr. Vegas and Sizzla alongside future big shots Sean Paul, Lexxus (here featured with his extremely popular and awesome cut "Ring Mi Cellie"), Devonte & Tanto Metro and Ward 21 deliver mainly solid efforts across computerized hardcore Dancehall riddims. Only Wayne Wonder, who delivers a very entertaining tune, doesn't perform his lyrics over a totally computerized riddim. In the John John produced Keep Forgetting", Wayne Wonder finds his flow across the immortal "Shank I Shek" riddim. This compilation set is definitely not for people with sensitive ears, but a must-have for those who want to be kept involved "inna di dance' till the very end !

Teacher & Mr. T.