Various artists album review
Power Of Trinity Vol. 1
14 - 12 - 1998

Tracking list

  1. Prince Theo - Natty On Ya
  2. Kulcha Knox - Happiness Brings Joy
  3. Mark Wonder - Sad Story
  4. Jah Mason - Zion Road Rocky
  5. Mikey General - Go Before Us
  6. Angie Angel - All A Di Princess
  7. Sugar Black & Lehbanchulah - Trodding On
  8. Kulcha Knox - Pure And Clean
  9. Mark Wonder - Awake Ethiopians
  10. Prezident Brown - Behold
  11. Prince Theo - Jah Rules
  12. Warrior Dub
  13. Gully Dub
  14. Maze Place Dub
  15. Heaven Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Power Of Trinity Vol. 1 is exactly what its subtitle - "It's A Cultural Explosion" - says ! On the vocal tracks of this compilation set one can witness up-and-coming cultural artists like Prince Theo and Jah Mason alongside "roots 'n' culture" mainstays like Sugar Black & Lehbanchulah, Mikey General and Prezident Brown, who all deliver their conscious and uplifting lyrics over a vibrant set of four original riddims. Rather nice dub versions of the riddims - laid by Jahmaik, Fire Red, Thomas Santer with the additional horns of Dean Fraser (on 2 riddims) and the Solomonic horns (on 1 riddim) are included as well. The whole album brings a very contemporary rootical sound due to the (re-)mixing work, which actually was done by Barry O'Hare. Highlights are Mark Wonder's Awake Ethiopians, Sugar Black & Lehbanchuleh's Trodding On and Prezident Brown's Behold. Other noteworthy tracks are Happines Brings Joy by the underrated Kulcha Knox who delivers an excellent cultural mid tempo track, newcomer Angie Angel toasting about King Selassie in All A Di Princess and Prince Theo -featured twice here- with his praising song Jah Rules.
This album is an excellent way to check out the lesser known Jamaican talents and we'll promise you that you won't be disappointed !

Teacher & Mr. T.