Progressive Love Riddim
Heavybeat Records
Digital Release
January 25, 2016

Track list
  1. Chevaughn - Come To U
  2. Nikesha Lindo - A Love Like Mine
  3. Ambelique - He Said She Said
  4. Tanto Metro & Devonte - She Gives Me Love
  5. Kashief Lindo - You're The One
  6. Yashema McLeod - Oh Me Oh My
  7. Delly Ranx - Prepare Yourself
  8. Mikey General - Never Alone
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
The "Progressive Love Riddim" is a contemporary lovers rock riddim out of the HeavyBeat Records camp, the label of legendary producer & session guitarist Willie Lindo, who has produced such greats as Dennis Brown, Wayne Wade, June Lodge, Beres Hammond and Maxi Priest. However, this project is produced by his daughter, the talented Nikesha Lindo. Her career took off at the tender age of 8, and 2013 saw the release of her debut album. She contributes a tune here as well. "A Love Like Mine" is a splendid example of modern female lovers rock! Her brother Kashief brings a solid effort with "You're The One". The other female artist here, Yashema McLeod, out of the Stingray camp, is a promising up-and-coming UK artist. Her vocal style, with her warm and soothing tone, ranges between Reggae, RnB and Soul. Nice effort!

The multi-talented Chevaughn is perfectly at easy with this riddim. Being a true specialist in lovers tunes, he truly shines with his tune "Come To U". Ambelique (Owen Silvera) is blessed with one of the best voices in reggae music. His career took off in the '60s, but it lasted untill the '90s when a series of fine singles for Sly & Robbie put him on the music map as a sweet soulful singer who mainly poises on the edge of lovers rock. "He Said She Said" is such a gem! The combination Tanto Metro & Devonte handle the riddim with conviction and emotion. Delly Ranx aka Mr. 'Redbull & Guinness', born Delroy Foster, has been a staple on the Jamaican dancehall reggae scene for some 15 years, not only as an artist but also as a producer. He's on the right track with the uplifting tune "Prepare Yourself". Finally we get to Mikey General, born Michael Taylor on October 9th 1963. In 1985 he was voted 'Best Reggae Newcomer' by the readers of Black Echoes. Together with Luciano he was one of the 'soldiers' of the new conscious roots music in the '90s. He's the only one who delivers a non-lovers tune here, as he sings about "Jah was with me all the way", a truthful and moving song!

Quality music!