Various artists album review
Psalms Of Drums (The Black & White Story)
Pressure Sounds
18 - 04 - 1998

Tracking list

  1. King Tubby's - Psalms of the drums
  2. Dillinger - Healing stream
  3. Bobby Kalphat - Liberation front
  4. King Tubby's - Sabotage
  5. Michael Scotland - I hold the handle
  6. Trinity - Natty contractor
  7. Ray I - Weatherman skank
  8. King Tubby's - King Tubby's at the controls
  9. Dillinger - Stumbling block
  10. King Tubby's - Page One
  11. Carlton Patterson - Wash wash
  12. King Tubby's - Watchman dub
  13. Michael Scotland - Love is a treasure
  14. Carlton Patterson/Lloyd Parks - Let me go girl
  15. Trinity - Internal feeling
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

Another excellent set released as a part of "Pressure Sounds" dynamic series of historical re-issues. Carlton Patterson's distinctive roots productions, coupled with the engineering genius of the originator King Tubby, made the "Black & White" label productions highly esteemed by collector's of Jamaican 7" singles. Surprisingly this is the first ever compilation album of Carl Patterson's label. The tracks included on this various artists/showcase album afford an overdue perspective of this neglected producer's output with vocals, toasts, instrumentals and dub versions. Kicking off with one of the great riddims of the 70's "Psalms of Dub (engineered by Errol Thompson at Randy's studio) this album offers high quality music all the way, not a bad track to be found ! Musical pleasure is guaranteed, track after track.

Teacher & Mr. T.