Various artists album review
Pure Lovers Vol. 14
Jet Star
10 - 12 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Freddie McGregor - Man In Me
  2. Ambelique - Enough Is Enough
  3. Glen Washington - Can't Get Away
  4. Peter Hunnigale - Rub A Dyb Style
  5. Mighty Diamonds - Look In Your Eyes
  6. Don Campbell - I'm Still Waiting
  7. Lukie D - Longer Than
  8. Thriller U - Love Is In The Air
  9. Archie Wonder - Piece Of My Heart
  10. Al Campbell - That's The Way Love Goes
  11. Ruddy Thomas - Day Dreaming
  12. Angel - When You're Ready
  13. Tinga Stewart - Talk Is Cheap
  14. Antonio - Crying For Love
  15. Donna Marie - Thin Little Lies
  16. Lorna Asher - Door Key
  17. Tony Curtis - Foolish Heart
  18. Richie Stephens - Speak The Truth
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

The impressive Jet Star/Charm series Pure Lovers is a perfect way to keep up with the latest lovers tunes out of Jamaica and the UK. This heartbreaking solid 14th volume in the series gathers the usual suspects, each delivering gems in the lovers rock genre, mostly produced by Jet Star's own Cave Production team. Great and established names such as Freddie McGregor, Glen Washington, Al Campbell, Tinga Stewart and Ruddy Thomas stand surety for a sublime collection of emotional lovers tunes, mostly delivered across revitalized classic reggae riddims from the vaults of Studio One and Treasure Isle. No weak track here, but these are some of our favourite tracks : The Mighty Diamonds with the King Jammy produced Look In Your Eyes, Lukie D with the Stone Love production Longer Than across the classic "Conversation" riddim and Tony Curtis with Foolish Heart for the UK-based quality reggae label Stingray.
If you're looking for an album for the romantic moments in your life make sure you get this one !

Teacher & Mr. T.