Put Jah Rastafari First
Uplift Records
January 15, 2006

Track list
  1. The Meditations - For I'ver
  2. Ranking Joe - Rastaman Time
  3. Determine - King Of Kings
  4. Lyricson - Praises
  5. Lyricson - Can't Go On
  6. The Viceroys - Lightning & Thunder
  7. King Kong - Chosen One
  8. Spectacular - Who Dem
  9. Sugar Minott - Need Your Guidance
  10. Winston Mc Anuff - All On Top
  11. Lutan Fyah - Babylon A Fiss
  12. Murray Man - Fighting For
  13. Murray Man - Jah Love
  14. Determine - King Of Kings (Hip Hop Remix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 2
After having unleashed some noteworthy 7" singles Paris based Uplift Records have released a solid compilation entitled "Put Jah Rastafari First". This collection of conscious tunes brings together the talents of Jamaican reggae veterans and a much promising new generation of artists which includes Lutan Fyah, Spectacular, Murray Man and Lyricson. Riddimwize this cd is a mixture of fresh roots riddims and dancehall riddims. The album starts off with a cut from The Meditations and Ranking Joe over the same wicked roots riddim. Vocally and lyrically The Meditations are in real good shape and thus their "For I'ver" makes a serious impression, while Ranking Joe contributes the decent "Rastaman Time", delivering his conscious lyrics in his tried and trusted deejay style. Then the listener is treated to two rather mediocre efforts by Determine and Lyricson performed over a dancehall riddim with hip-hop overtones. Luckily Lyricson's next tune is on a roots riddim, which fits his vocal style much better. With "Can't Go On" he delivers one of the best tracks of the album. On the same backdrop The Viceroys maintain the quality with "Lightning & Thunder". It's dancehall vibes again with King Kong and Spectacular delivering their musical goods over an infectious, danceable riddim track. Back to roots with Sugar Minott's wonderful "Need Your Guidance" and Winston McAnuff's solid "All On Top", both efforts over a riddim that incorporates a nice melodica sound. Lutan Fyah finds his conscious flow over an appealing dancehall riddim, spitting the fiery lyrics of "Babylon A Fiss" in his spiritual singjay style. Murray Man, whose vocal delivery somewhat reminds of Michael Rose, makes a decent impression with "Fighting For" and the bonus track "Jah Love". Determine's "Kings Of Kings (Hip-Hop Remix)" rounds off a fairly enjoyable compilation set which features some great tunes and a few weak moments.