Various artists album review
Pyramid Sampler Vol. 1
Jamdown Records
01 - 08 - 1998

Tracking list

  1. Granty Roots - Work hard for the money
  2. Rocabessa - Ole' imposter
  3. Lady Saw - Sit in limbo
  4. Merciless - Dem nah hear remix
  5. Capleton - How long remix
  6. Don Yute - This year
  7. Spragga Benz & Tomahawk - Flex insane
  8. Lady Saw - Unite
  9. Daddy Lizard - From the heart
  10. Frisco Kid - Don't stop black
  11. Anthony Redrose - Man a lion
  12. Worl-A-Girl - Don Man
  13. Wayne Fresh - Mother you tried
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4

Producer Jermaine Forde (related to Aswad's vocalist and guitar player Brinsley "Dan" Forde) first attracted noticeable attention with his involvement in the producing of the excellent one riddim album "Ole Fung Reggae Ska" coming from Freddie McGregor's Big Ship camp in the summer of 1997. Now Forde is back on the track with a Jamdown Records released compilation set of predominantly conscious dancehall tunes he produced, recorded and mixed for his own Pyramid International Records and Ole Fung Productions. "Pyramid Sampler Vol. 1" is not a solid album, but a few of the tracks included are must-haves. Topping the dancehall list are Rocabressa's "Ole' imposter" and "Flex insane" by Spragga Benz & Tomahawk. Furthermore almost reggae vet Anthony Redrose and new singer Wayne Fresh with his uplifting song "Mother You Tried" deliver a nice effort. However, one tends to expect more from compilations because they are supposed to be a selection of good songs.

Teacher & Mr. T.