Ragga Ragga Ragga 2008
April 25, 2008

Track list
  1. On The Rock - Mavado
  2. Duppy Know Who Fi Frighten - Demarco
  3. Jail - Busy Signal
  4. Study People - Serani
  5. Shoot Out - Michael Rose
  6. Wine Pon Di Edge - Busy Signal
  7. Money Fi Spend - Vybz Kartel
  8. Rise It - Collie Buddz
  9. Cyaan Look Inna Wi Eye - Bugle
  10. Center For The Poor - Elephant Man
  11. My Scheme - Vybz Kartel
  12. Ay Ya Ay Ya - Black Ryno
  13. Knocking At Your Door - Busy Signal
  14. This Is How We Grow - Firelinks & Tony Matterhorn
  15. Buddy Buddy (Raw Dancehall Mix) - Charly Blacks
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 11-
Very Good -Votes: 4-
Good -Votes: 2-
Average -Votes: 1-
Disappointing -Votes: 1-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 19
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Greensleeves Records have released their newest annual volume in the Ragga Ragga Ragga! series (which I hope they will continue doing now that they also will have to compile 4 times a year in their new Sampler series) and it's a true 'All Killer No Filler' edition. Kicking off with the tune getting every dancehall massive completely berzerk currently Mavado's "I'm On The Rock" a.k.a. "Never Stop Me" across the 'Mission'-riddim for Baby G's Yard Vybz Entertainment and Demarco with "Duppy Know Who Fi Frighten" across Lloyd 'John John' James Jr.'s brilliant 'Shoot Out'-riddim for his Awful Productions and as if emphasizing the strong links between the Jammys camp and Greensleeves yet another Jammy's sibling, in this case Jammy 'Jam 2' James, produced the equally strong 'Cry Holy'-riddim backing Busy Signal massive Nah Go A "Jail" Again .

Craig 'Serani' Marsh built the 'Drum Lane'-riddim for Dane 'Fire Links' Johnson's Hit Strip Records together with his fellow Daseca-members, the Harrisingh brothers, and Serani himself voiced the very impressive Study People", followed by Michael Rose's tune giving 'John John''s latest riddim its name "Shoot Out", Busy Signal's "Wine Pon Di Edge" that gave Collin 'Demarco' Edwards riddim for his own Starkutt label its name and Vybz Kartel with his mighty gals tune "Money Fi Spend" across the Stephen 'Di Genius' McGregor produced 'Stink' a.k.a. 'Bee Hive'-riddim for his Big Ship Productions. And although Collie Buddz seems to alternate strong with much weaker tunes this last year, luckily (but what would you expect of an 'All Killer No Filler' compilation) his auto-tuned "Rise It" over Massive B's 'Da Go Go'-riddim (that obviously was heavily inspired by 'Showtime') certainly belongs to his stronger recent releases.

Bugle cements his recently with "What We Gonna Do" gained status as top notch DJ with "Cyaan Look Inna We Eye", the second tune here over the 'Drum Lane' before Elephant Man delivers the excellent reality tune "Cater For The Poor" (Fed Up) over the 'Mission'-riddim. 'Explyricist' Vybz Kartel, whose "My Scheme" after its Stephen u too damn evil / mi nah no change a change / a so mi grow a so mi grow / mi no go below a so mi a so mi grow / foreignas if unu neva kno ask di tourist board / bout my scheme-intro in its chorus explains how we bun di sodomite / love di p*u**y but we neva neva bite before warning watch weh u walk u coulda vanish inna di nite / head a take off like a tourist pon a flight / nuh dead by accident wi buss him head fi spite in his inimitable style shows how that style works like magic over Stephen McGregor's 'Darker Shaddow', followed by Black Ryno, one of the members of Vybz Kartel's Portmore Empire contributing his fine "Ay Ya Ay Ya" over the 'Shaddow'-alternative version of the same riddim.

Busy Signal's second tune is the completely over the top but extremely entertaining "Knocking At Your Door" over the 'Shoot Out'-riddim, before Tony Matterhorn appears alongside producer Fire Links over the 'Drum Lane'-riddim with the great "This Is How We Grow" and the album is closed by Zee Original Bass Odyssey's Charly Blacks' heavily soca-tinged "Buddy Buddy" that was released as a single on VP Records, produced by Bass Odyssey's selector DJ Mark (Bartley), taking the tally to 16 extremely strong hardcore dancehall tunes collected here. You can, if you're into dancehall, not afford not to buy this album, unless you already own every single tune featured here as a 45.