Various artists album review
Ragga Ragga Ragga 12
10 - 11 - 1998

Tracking list

  1. Beenie Man - Let Him Go
  2. Red Rat - Mix Up Melissa
  3. Mr. Vegas - Wave
  4. Sean Paul - Strategy
  5. Buccaneer - Soco Numa
  6. Hawkeye - Man Poppy Show
  7. Harry Todler - Get Gal Easy
  8. Mr. Vegas - Jacket
  9. Beenie Man - Gwaan So
  10. Tanya Stephens - Bounce Me
  11. Zebra - You See Me
  12. Goofy - That Cyaan Happen
  13. Buccaneer - Bruk Out
  14. Red Rat - Yu Nice
  15. General Degree - Bag A Tings
  16. Hawkeye - Damn It
  17. Goofy - Tatty Boom
  18. Devonte & Tanto Metro - Better Body
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Greensleeves latest release -volume 12- in the Ragga Ragga Ragga ! series is a highly explosive collection of current dancehall chart toppers. It features two of the hottest new tracks around, Mr. Vegas' Wave and Harry Todlers's Get Gal Easy, both on the blasting Broke Bottle riddim, produced by Desmond & Rupert Blake for their Q45 Productions.
There's Jeremy Harding's mesmerizing 'Medina' riddim which grabs you, pushes for turning it up to a bashment level and makes one wanna dance all night long. Check out Devonte & Tanto Metro's Better Body, Sean Paul's Strategy, Red Rat's Yu Nice and Tanya Stephens' Bounce Me.
Mainstreet's awesome 'Heavy Metal' riddim, which incorporates a dominant guitar part, is done by Hawkeye -Man Poppy Show- and Buccaneer -Bruk Out-. Another jugglin' dancehall riddim build at Main Street is 'Splash', present here with versions by Red Rat -Mix Up Melissa-, Goofy -That Cyaan Happen, and Hawkeye with Damn It.
Mr. Vegas's Jacket is also featured on his debut album 'Heads High' and is a cut to the 'Baddis ' riddim, produced by Main Street's ace engineer Richard Browne. The talented Mr. Vegas, with his youthful energy and vibe, delivers a jugglin' dancehall tune well worth checking out. On the same riddim deep voiced General Degree delivers his tune Bag A Tings inna kind of singjay stylee, and his performance is as good as you would expect.
When it comes to hardcore dancehall sound - build on entirely computer-driven riddims - Steely & Clevie have often successfully showcased their talent and skills, which made them highly acclaimed producers and musicians in the dancehall scene. Their superb "Bagpipe" riddim is featured here with tracks from Zebra -You See Me and Goofy's Tatty Boom.
A lot of the tracks featured on this album were released as 7"singles. Since the Ragga Ragga Ragga series will be appearing bi-monthly it is an excellent way of keeping up with the constantly changing trends in the dancehall !

Teacher & Mr. T.