Various artists album review
Ragga Ragga Ragga 13

Tracking list

  1. Beenie Man - Battery Dolly
  2. Zebra - Right Type A Love
  3. Mr. Vegas - Di Position
  4. Red Rat - Bruk Mi Ducks
  5. Sean Paul - Report To We
  6. Beenie Man - Study Me
  7. Ward 21 - Haters
  8. Zebra - Unfair You Know
  9. Scare Dem - No Fraid A Dem
  10. Mr. Vegas - Buss Your Bubble
  11. Lady Saw - Sloppy In Bed
  12. Buccaneer - We Own Show
  13. Goofy - Meow
  14. Sean Paul - Faded
  15. Hawkeye - Look At All Those Fassy
  16. Elephant Man & Harry Toddler - Dun The Place
  17. Beenie Man - Sleep With Me
  18. Bounty Killer - Psycho Med (Ward 21 Mega Bash)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Since its entrance the Greensleeves' Ragga Ragga Ragga ! series has tried to document and reflect the freshest and most accessible form of ragga delivered by up-and-coming as well as established trendsetting producers and artists in the field. By now the series has reached the status of recognised and reliable guide to today's ragga scene. "Ragga Ragga Ragga ! 13" unmistakably confirms this status. It fully lives up to expectations and is truly the "up-to-the-minute barometer for all discerning dancehall fans".
This compilation set is packed with the biggest tunes and hottest riddims of the moment. Dancehall star Beenie Man lights the touch paper with "Battery Dolly" across Steely & Clevie's "Street Sweeper" riddim - an incredible collage of piping, plucking, orchestral samples and militaristic percussion - and it's fireworks all the way ! With the Jack Scorpio produced "Study Me" and "Sleep With Me" over Jeremy Harding's "Mercury" riddim the world's most versatile deejay Beenie Man contributes two more booming tunes. Another hustling take on the "Mercury" riddim comes from new dancehall sensation Mr. Vegas, who also delivers a wicked version across King Jammy's Ward 21 assisted "Bada Bada" riddim. This riddim is currently dominating the dancefloor, so it's obvious this compilation has to feature several more cuts : Ward 21's "Haters", Sean Paul's "Faded" and Bounty Killer's "Psycho Med", the latter proving the most popular to date. Zebra launches two rockets across the infectious harddriven "Broke Bottle" riddim and the aforementioned "Street Sweeper", while Red Rat - whose innovative wailing baby-style vocals have captured the imagination of many young dancehall fans - delivers Bruk Mi Ducks over Mainstreet's awesome "Heavy Metal" riddim. More dancehall fever comes from Sean Paul's "Report To We" and Lady Saw's "Sloppy In Bed" both cuts across the "Now Report" riddim. Scare Dem delivers a tune reminiscent of Lauryn Hill's "Doo-Wop (That Thing)" over Wall Street's "Sledge" riddim and we capture Hawkeye's "Look At All Those Fassy" over Jack Scorpio's "Study Me" riddim. Furthermore Buccaneer and Scare Dem members Elephant Man & Harry Toddler tear up the place as they fire their lyrics over the brutal "Street Sweeper" riddim.
Need we say this is an invaluable compilation for anyone not regularly buying new singles as well as an easy and economical way of keeping up with the continually changing face of ragga ?!

Teacher & Mr. T.