Various artists album review
The Real Authentic Sound Of Studio One
12 - 04 - 1997

Tracking list

  1. Earl Sixteen - Musically crucial
  2. Horace Martin - Gimme fe me corn
  3. Little John - Who beg no get
  4. Hugh Griffiths - So secure
  5. Hugh Griffiths - Dance hall session
  6. Hortense Ellis - Sweetheart
  7. Carlton Livingston - Predicting your future
  8. Mikey Jarrett - Get you green card
  9. Sound Dimension - Full up (original mix)
  10. Dillinger - Jamaican collie
  11. Barry Brown - Asking you to leave
  12. Michigan & Smiley - Thank you Jah
  13. Freddie McGregor - Africa here I come
  14. Sound Dimension - Full up (wild mix)
  15. Tenessee - What a gwan
  16. Lone Ranger - Three mile skank
  17. Frankie Paul - Rub a dub with feeling
  18. Ethiopians - Naw give up
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

In recent years the Studio One label released two compilation albums called "Current Artists At Studio One Vol. 1 and 2". The title refers to the fact that current performers went into the studio to create new songs over well-known Studio One rhythm tracks. Not quite a novelty, because they did exactly the same in 1987 and 1988 when the collaboration between Jamaica's Studio One label and RAS Records in America first resulted in the "Dance Hall Session" album, followed by the one rhythm album "All On The Same Rhythm" bringing new life to the famous "Full Up" rhythm. Now both albums have been brought together on one CD. Although the rhythms were created decades ago it's amazing how catchy and powerful they remain, in spite of the fact that we've had countless versions on those rhythms throughout the years. But next to the rhythm we have the artists, who provide the final result. Unfortunately not every performer has been able to come up to expectations.

Teacher & Mr. T.