Various artists album review
Riddim Driven ~ 44 Flat
VP Records-Walboomers Music
06 - 04 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Shabba Ranks - Pullu Pum
  2. Elephant Man - Say Never
  3. T.O.K. - Gal Galore
  4. General Degree - Bad As U Want
  5. Frisco Kid & Spragga Benz - "1,2 Order"
  6. Mr. Lex - Dem No Like Mi
  7. Mega Banton - Ask Dem How
  8. Professor Nuts - Mek It Stay In Deh
  9. Roundhead - I'm Going Crazy
  10. Buccaneer - Center Stage
  11. Lady Saw - Girlfriend
  12. Determine - Above The Law
  13. Elephant Man - R Kelly Face
  14. Spragga Benz - Gal Come Sa
  15. Anthony B - Walk Around
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Throughout their enduring career veteran musicians and producers Steely & Clevie have treated the dancehall massive to a stunning series of hit riddims including "Poco In The East", "Pocoman Jam", "Punaany", "Street Sweeper", "Bagpipe" and "Bitter Blood", to name a few. Now they come up with the "44 Flat", the follow-up to last year's "Nine Night". This brandnew bangin' streetbeat is a mid-tempo stomp with the signature production qualities we’ve come to expect from this successful duo : solid riddim, high contrast in sounds with wicked lyrics on the top. Besides all regulars of the Steely & Clevie camp such as General Degree, Roundhead, Buccaneer and Wickerman, the line up features the usual current dancehall stars. Probably the most surprising names included here are the legendary Shabba Ranks and Professor Nuts. Both artists deliver standout cuts on this "Riddim Driven" set. Other highlights are T.O.K.'s "Gal Galore", General Degree's "Bad As U Want", Roundhead's "I'm Going Crazy" and the two Elephant Man tunes "Say Never" and "R Kelly Face".

Teacher & Mr. T.