Various artists album review
Riddim Driven ~ Dancehall Rock
VP Records
August 24, 2004

Tracking list

  1. Ova Di Wall - Elephant Man
  2. Do It If Yuh Bad - Assassin
  3. Throw Word - Vybz Kartel
  4. Put Foot Ova - Spragga Benz
  5. The Thing - CÚCile & Beenie Man
  6. Defense - T.O.K.
  7. Give Me More - Lady Saw
  8. Tonight - General Degree
  9. Sen On - Hollow Point
  10. High Grade - Mr. Easy
  11. Higher - Voicemail
  12. Bruk Pocket Hot Boy - General B & Lexxus
  13. Know Yu Friend - Macka Diamond
  14. Pop No Style - Chico
  15. Your Life - Blacker (& Clean 'Dancehall Rock'-riddim version)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4/5

After the stir they created with the 'Coolie Dance'-riddim, released in Greensleeves' Rhythm Album series as "Coolie Dance" as well as more cuts on the 'Coolie' in VP Records' Riddim Driven series as "Coolie Skank", Cordel 'Skatta' Burrell & Everton 'Eva' Burrell' of Kings Of Kings Productions have returned to the dancehall with a riddim that is completely different. Computerized, fast and hard hitting. Much more leaning towards the hardest fast-paced riddims in the series of releases with which Kings Of Kings Productions have become a mainstay in the dancehall, like 'Martial Arts' and its "Vol. 2", 'Double Jeopardy', 'C4' and 'Bad Company', they certainly built a riddim with as much appeal in the dancehalls as 'Coolie Dance' had and still has, but definitely without the crossover-appeal. Elephant Man's "Ova Di Wall" is of his three tunes on this 'Dancehall Rock'-riddim (the other two are "Propella" and "Long Story") the one getting played most in the dancehalls and contrary to what you might expect, it's not about a climbing-dance-move, but it's a only 2 minutes long badman-tune. It's followed by three war-tunes, with Assassin in "Do It If Yuh Bad", Vybz Kartel in Badman nuh "Throw Word", spiced up with the sound of gunshots and Spragga Benz challenging both DJs to cross the line on "Put Foot Ova". Beenie Man contributes alongside CÚCile the only crossover candidate on this 'Dancehall Rock'-riddim, with CÚCile wanting "The Thing" whe di doctor order mi, as the slackness will probably be missed be mainstream listeners. T.O.K. with "Defense" and Lady Saw with the very fine slack "Give Me More" also contribute excellent tunes that belong to the ones ruling the dancehalls now. Degree is strong as always promising somebody gwaan get it "Tonight", before the attention is on bashment lyrics, with Hollow Point, whose equally strong "Round & Round" isn't included, speeding through "Sen On" and Mr.Easy doing the fine weed-tune with a lyrical reference to Mykal Roze's backyard "High Grade". Not much difference in the titles of the tunes, but Voicemail's "Higher" is all about building up his love instead of reaching ganja heights. General B. benefits from doing "Bruk Pocket Hot Boy" combination-style with Lexxus, for a tune like their combined 'Coolie Skank'-lick much stronger than his solo efforts on the 'Flava' and 'Mad Guitar'-riddims. Macka Diamond's voice is on "Know Yu Friend" so powerful, that you might be led to believe you're listening to a young male instead of a female DJ, great delivery. Chico contributes the hookline driven "Pop No Style". It's a pity that the strong "Dancehall Queen" on the riddim by UK's Suncycle Crew, who already impressed with their "Levels (Brokwile Part 3)" and their "Somebody" on Kings Of Kings' 'Coolie Dance'-riddim, is not included on this album, as goes for the two other Elephant Man, Mr.Vegas, Madd Anju and Hollow Point tunes, but this still is a wicked compilation of tunes on another wicked Kings Of Kings riddim, even when Blacker's "Your Life" closing it before seguing into a clean version of this fabulous riddim is by far the weakest cut on it.