Various artists album review
Riddim Driven ~ Diesel
VP Records-Walboomers Music
24 - 12 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Bounty Killer & Angel Doolas - Chicken Head
  2. Anthony Cruz - 5 Minutes
  3. Major Kristi - Pritty
  4. Mr. Vegas - Oh Donna
  5. Shaddu - Money
  6. Ward 21 - Topping
  7. Cobra - Show Your Hands
  8. Vybz Cartel - Wosen
  9. Bling Dawg - Pon It
  10. Galaxy P - Tickle Her Fancy
  11. Singer J & New Kidz - Hot Gal
  12. Elephant Man - Low Mi Name (aka Passa Passa)
  13. Tony Curtis & Mr. Lexx - it's On
  14. Bugsy Malone - Girls
  15. L.M.S. & Morgan Heritage - Out Cry
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

"Diesel" - named after the vogue actor Vin - is the latest bashment riddim coming from Rattler Records and producer Peter Jackson, now available on VP Records' highly rated and fast growing "Riddim Driven" series. The "Diesel" riddim (the follow up to the "X5") is a keyboard driven, down tempo bounce with laid back drum pattern and plucky string hits. That this cd stars many of the usual suspects is predictable, since the line-up of artists rarely changes on these bashment sets, no matter the producer in charge. So, once again we're treated to the seemingly ever present Elephant Man, whose solid "Low Mi Name aka Passa Passa" (like most of his tunes) is already bubbling in Jamaica. Other notable tracks with the right type of hypness featured here are Chicken Head" from the wicked combination Bounty Killer & Angel Doolas, Anthony Cruz's explicit "5 Minutes", Mr. Vegas' remake of the Toto nugget "Hosanna" titled "Oh Donna", Ward 21's hot shot "Poppin" and "It's On" by Tony Curtis & Mr. Lexx. Not happening that often and thus really surprising to hear roots & culture outfits L.M.S. and Morgan Heritage performing on a hardcore dancehall riddim. However, their Out Cry" (followed by the version) rounds off this "Diesel" set in fine style.
"Riddim Driven ~ Diesel" maintains a high profile in any self respecting dancehall fan's riddim box. Also available on 20 track double vinyl.

Teacher & Mr. T.