Various artists album review
Riddim Driven ~ Engine
VP Records-Walboomers Music
30 - 08 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. No Fear – Bounty Killer
  2. Scream Girl Child – Sizzla
  3. Bun Him A Gi Yuh – Elephant Man
  4. Bedroom Bully - Ward 21
  5. Lick Dem Head – Spragga Benz
  6. Big Man – Vybz Cartel
  7. I’ve Been Waiting – Anthony Cruz
  8. Nah Go Nice – Wayne Wonder
  9. If A War – Assassin
  10. Batta Ears – Mad Cobra
  11. Up & Down – Anthony B
  12. Blessings In Disguise – Lady Saw
  13. Girl You Know – Daville
  14. Lyrics – Galaxy P
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

The riddims keep coming.... Here's one of VP Records' latest installments in their popular 'Riddim Driven' series. This album runs down 15 deadly pieces across the "Engine" riddim. It comes from the historic King Jammy's Recording Studios in Jamaica and is a hot new riddim track created especially for the dancehall massive by producer (and King Jammy protιgι) Christopher "CJ" James. All artists deliver their high tempo lyrics over a stripped down slice of hardcore ragga, which reminds us of the "Liquid" riddim. The album is filled wall to wall with talent and includes such standout deliveries like Bounty Killer with No Fear, Spragga Benz with Lick Dem Head and Anthony B doing Up & Down. Both Elephant Man and Ward 21 deliver boomshot XXX-rated tunes : Elephant Man with Bun Him A Gi Yuh and Ward 21 with Bed Room Bully. Singer Anthony Cruz comes up with a surprising version of Foreigner's I've Been Waiting and sweet-voiced singer Daville tackles the riddim very nicely with Girl You Know.
Nuff dancehall pleasure here !

Teacher & Mr. T.