Various artists album review
Riddim Driven ~ Golden Bathtub
VP Records-Walboomers Music
07 - 01 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Mr. Easy - Come Home Soon
  2. Nesbeth - Let It Be
  3. Kirk Davis - Love Me For Me
  4. Mr. G - Leave My Woman
  5. Hawkeye - Tell Unu Straight
  6. Silver Cat - Somet'n Pon Har
  7. Mega Banton - Flossie Pace
  8. Mr. Vegas - 2002 Skettel
  9. Alozade - Victim Of Love
  10. Tanto Metro & Devonte - Real Bad Way
  11. Shaddu & Patchy - Love Controversy
  12. Elephant Man - Perfect Winer
  13. Kiprich - Go Go Anthem
  14. Power Man - Fill It Up
  15. Kananga & Delly - Di Zoom
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Bubbling up from the streets of Jamaica is the "Golden Bathtub", the latest bashment riddim from Patrick Roberts' "Shocking Vibes" label. Most of the tracks featured here were released on pre 45s recently, but now they are available on a larger scale through VP Records' highly rated and much anticipated "Riddim Driven" series. On the cd we're treated to 15 cuts across a bouncy, guitar driven riddim with an old time country music feel. One look at the line up of artists and one instantly sees that the usual suspects are well represented once again. Starting off with a decent new track from Mr. Easy entitled "Come Home Soon", we are taken on a version excursion that furthermore brings us such highlights as Hawkeye's "Tell Unu Straight", Alozade's Victim Of Love", Tanto Metro & Devonte's "Real Bad Way" and Elephant Man's "Perfect Winer". Curious that the latest boom shot from Ras Moses a.k.a. Beenie Man called "Lord Will Be There" is missing.
The "Golden Bathtub" also comes on double vinyl and besides the fifteen tracks featured on the cd it has also tunes by Tony Rebel, Brian & Tony Gold, Captain Barkey & Wickerman, Josey Wales and Chrome.

Teacher & Mr. T.