Various artists album review
Riddim Driven ~ Juicy
VP Records-Walboomers Music
January 15 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Party Vibes - George Nooks & Bounty Killer
  2. So Fine - Tanto Metro & Devonte
  3. Your Smile - T.O.K
  4. Her Love - Sanchez
  5. No Heathen - Bunji Garlin
  6. Make Her Love Me - Prince Mydas
  7. Homie's Girl - Carl Henry
  8. When You Smile - Lukie D
  9. Champion - Brian & Tony Gold
  10. Love Shouldn't - Sasha
  11. No Love Tonight - Cecile
  12. Look Good - Vybz Kartel
  13. Sweet Love - Mr.Easy & Red Foxx
  14. Tell Me What You Like - Major Damage
  15. Good Ride - Tanya Stephens
  16. In The Club - Shelene
  17. Instrumental - Juicy Riddim
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

The VP Records' "Riddim Driven" series continues with the "Juicy" riddim. The album brings you 17 tracks with long lasting flavor and vibes. Bringing together the production skills of Gordon 'Mr. Doo' Dukes, Ricky "Mad Man" Myrie and reggae veteran George Nooks the riddim is a blend of synth based string patterns and a hard hitting bass line over a mid-tempo pulse. Executive producers on board are Robert Livingstone and O. Burrell from the Big Yard camp, known from their successful collaboration with Shaggy. The tracks for this album were recorded in New York and Jamaica, and the musicians involved here are the aforementioned Gordon 'Mr. Doo' Dukes and Ricky Myrie. The roll call of artists contains no real surprises as it features usual firecrackers like the seemingly ever present highlights Vybz Kartel, Tanya Stephens and T.O.K. Sweet voiced Sanchez delivers his version of the riddim in fine style and Ce'Cile makes her move with a great tune. George Nooks and Bounty Killer make a perfect combination and Mr. Easy and Red Foxx deliver their tune with nuff passion, whilst also newcomers Carl Henry and Prince Mydas deliver promising rides on the riddim.
Enjoy to the Max!

Teacher & Mr. T.