Riddim Driven ~ Move
VP Records-Walboomers Music
July 26, 2005

Track list
  1. Dancing Forever - Elephant Man
  2. Nah Surrender - Beenie Man
  3. Touch - Sanjay
  4. Don't Stop Movin - T.O.K.
  5. Praise The Lord - Black-Er
  6. Nuh Really Badman - T.O.K. feat. Bay-C
  7. Wine - Elephant Man
  8. Say Yeah - Bounty Killer
  9. The Zone - Vybz Kartel
  10. The Love That Made Us One - Wayne Marshall
  11. Move Your Body - Soltex
  12. Give It To Me - Vybz Kartel feat. Flava Unit
  13. Zodiac Sign - Sanjay feat. Lisa
  14. Hardcore - Xsytment Gang
  15. Move Version - Arif Cooper
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Producer Arif Cooper of Fresh Ear Productions, son of Third World's Ibo Cooper, and producer of the 'Good Vibes'-riddim, the bouncy and melodic hip-hop inspired 'Celebration'-riddim and the entertaining up-tempo with several alternative mixes of it 'Phantom' contributes another fine riddim to VP Records' successful Riddim Driven Series with his mid-tempo 'Move'-riddim. Both its name and the bouncing riddim itself make clear that this riddim is aimed at the dancefloor, and if you didn't get that it's Elephant Man, who (as always) is there to remember you should be "Dancing Forever" and though not exactly an example of the most innovative and intelligent lyrics (think everybody weddy weddy and dance, dance, dance / then yuh get jiggy wid it and dance, dance, dance / then yuh do di summer bounce and dance, dance, dance / gal shake up yuh booty and dance, dance / a weddy weddy weddy weddy weddy weddy weddy), it's an entertaining tune. Beenie Man tells the girls he'll "Nah Surrender", speaking out against 'eating unda da table' stating long john mi have mi nuh wuk wid mi tongue and Sanjay joins that theme in "Touch" with his no intention fi s#ck, no luck. T.O.K. get us lyrically back to the dancefloor with their girls and dance tune move your body, move your body, "Don't Stop Movin", don't stop movin / move your body, move your body, don't stop movin, keep on movin over a socaish disco arrangement of the riddim. The riddim gets more soca vibes added with a gospel twist for Black-Er's "Praise The Lord" before T.O.K.'s Bay-C with his fellow-T.O.K.-members backing him rides a more straightforward version of the 'Move'-riddim to dismiss all wannabe-badman telling some bwoy talk bout how dem a thug / true dem lock machine and dem have few slugs / dem bwoy deh yah "Nuh Really Badman" / Dem just gwaan like dem a badman and Elephant Man invites the women not getting it from their husband/boyfriend to "Wine" pon it and in this case it isn't the dancefloor to wine pon, but his 'anaconda'. Bounty Killer's take on a more syncopated percussive version of the riddim "Say Yeah" alongside the uncredited Jagwa is a very fine (combination-) girls tune, followed by the impressive war/Portmore tune "The Zone" by Vybz Kartel. Wayne Marshall revisits the reality theme he (for him still an exception) used for "Show More Love" on 'Phantom', now singing something's wrong / what's really going on / morality has gone / what happened to the world that lived as one and wondering what happened to "The Love That Made Us One". Asylum (one of Kingston's hot clubs) resident DJ Soltex follows his live dancehall vibes dance-instructions credited to the the Asylum DJs as given on "Stop (RMX)" over 'Phantom' now with the fine "Move Your Body" in the same vein. Flava Unit are even one step closer everytime to US-styled R&B vocals than e.g. Voicemail and T.O.K. ever will be, and in combination with Vybz Kartel's slack girls lyrics they make a superb tune of "Give It To Me" over an 80s disco version of the riddim. Sanjay, like Elephant Man, Vybz Kartel and T.O.K., is also getting a second tune on the riddim, the decent but nothing more "Zodiac Sign" featuring the sweet voice of Lisa. On the last vocal tune over this great riddim Xsytment once again prove they are capable of delivering very entertaining tunes in the style that has been championed by T.O.K. without sounding like copycats with "Hardcore" before the clean "Move Version" once more makes your feet wanna move to its irresistable beat. No groundbreaking new style from Arif Cooper here, but a very catchy riddim with some excellently voiced tunes over it is enough to recommend this CD to every non 7" buying dancehall lover.