Riddim Driven ~ My Baby
VP Records
July 12, 2005

Track list
  1. My Baby - Brian & Tony Gold
  2. Take It Easy - Richie Spice
  3. Telephone Thing - Kiprich
  4. Always - Shyman
  5. Don't Wanna Be Alone - Ky-Enie
  6. Why - Voicemail
  7. Hold Me - Rik Rok
  8. Come Home - Morgan Heritage
  9. My Baby Version
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
9 tunes? What's happening at VP Records? As if they haven't released enough 2-riddim albums in their Riddim Driven series, and even did exactly that with riddims released on Big Yard so it's a mystery to me why this is a 9 tune 1-riddim release (though they once came close, with Dave Kelly's 'Fiesta' containing only 10 tunes, and several volumes only containing 11, but this is an all-time low). That should however not distract from this very nice one-drop riddim 'My Baby', produced by Big Yard's Robert Livingston, who spends not too much time at the production controls himself, but he proves still being a master. The great original by harmony masters Brian & Tony Gold I left "My Baby" behind/ not even a rose for her valentine / hope everything would be fine / and when I get home my baby will still be mine opens this selection of tunes on what might be called "Riddim Driven ~ My Baby", but will probably get down in the history books as the 'Telephone Ting'-riddim. Richie Spice contributes the very fine, very smooth and soothing "Take It Easy" before Kiprich' lyrically very entertaining and very well delivered Jamaican Top 10 hit "Telephone Ting" mash up mi life / it mek matey a call mi wife yuh nuh see seh / telephone ting mash up mi life / it mek mi girl run gone fi knife, a yuh nuh see seh / telephone ting mash up mi life / hey a it a cause fuss and fight yuh nuh see seh / telephone ting mash up mi life / it mek mi caan sleep good at night shows where the new name for this riddim stems from. Shyam delivers the smooth lovers tunes "Always", then newcomer Ky-Enie begs his (former) woman to call or come back in the heartfelt "Don't Wanna Be Alone". Jamaica's hottest boygroup Voicemail are also on the receiving wrong end in the excellent "Why". Rik Rok, who rose to fame alongside (Big Yard co-owner) Shaggy, sings the beautiful "Hold Me" but the last vocal tune on this way too short album (and that's both because of the strength of the tunes on it and the fact that a CD with only 9(!) tunes has been released in VP's Riddim Driven Series) is to me the best tune on the riddim, Morgan Heritage's "Come Home" followed by the clean "My Baby Version". A wonderful set of tunes on an excellent riddim, but shame on VP Records for not adding a second riddim, and thus including only 9 tunes on an album in their great Riddim Driven Series.