Various artists album review
Riddim Driven ~ Tai Chi
VP Records-Walboomers Music
22 - 03 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. T.O.K. - Cree
  2. Sean Paul - Time After Time
  3. Ce'Cile - Lift Me Up (& Back Me)
  4. Elephant Man - Walk & Talk
  5. Monster Twins - Gal Weh Tek Yu Man
  6. Chico - Bun Dem
  7. Tanya Stephens - Please Me
  8. Buccaneer - Tragedy
  9. Kiprich - Black Man
  10. Red Rat - Fi Di Gal Dem
  11. Bounty Killer - Good Gal
  12. Wayne Marshall - Need A Girl Tonight
  13. Lady Saw - Yeh Yeh
  14. Mr. Vegas - Buss Di Wine
  15. Mr. Lex aka Lexxus - Can You Hear Me Now
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Producer Louis 'Flabba' Malcolm of "Mo' Music Productions", known from successful riddims such as "Headache" and "Hurricane", has a new bashment riddim called "Puppy Water" which gets its own "Riddim Driven". The "Puppy Water" has set off a major buzz in Jamaica based on 7" single releases and now the always avid dancehall fan from abroad is treated to a 15-track album that gathers these pre-release singles and more. This melodic electro pulse riddim brings us some very enjoyable cuts including "Girls Everyday" from current dancehall stars T.O.K., the awesome "Money" from hit duo Tanto Metro & Devonte and Lexxus' excellent "Cute Song". Furthermore worth of hearing are "Go Deh Gal" by Christopher, Ward 21's "Strength", Tanya Stephens' "Like That" and Elephant Man's "Virginity". Also featured here is Sizzla's "Push It Up" with the bobo dread delivering x-rated hardcore lyrics.
"Riddim Driven ~ Puppy Water" contains enough exciting pieces to heat up any dance and thrill the dancehall massive.

Teacher & Mr. T.