Riddim Driven ~ Sleng Teng Resurrection
VP Records
July 19, 2005

Track list
  1. Sleng Teng Resurrection - Bounty Killer feat. Wayne Smith
  2. High Grade - Taz feat. Marvelous
  3. Highest Heavens - Ras Shiloh
  4. Darkest Nights - Bushman
  5. Dancehall Style - Luciano
  6. No Fear - Anthony B
  7. Come In - Hollow Point
  8. Mad Again - Ninja Man
  9. Don't Dis Foundation - Jr. Reid
  10. Someone Loves You - Sizzla
  11. Believe In Me - DaVille
  12. You Look Fine - Junior Kelly
  13. Mr Murderer - Ward 21
  14. Informer And Spy - Ricky General
  15. Residents - Shaka Pow
  16. When It Done - Bobby Crystal
  17. Gangsta Roll - Admiral Bailey
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Now that after the Noel Davy and Powerman version "Riddim Eruption Volume 1 ~ Sleng Teng Progress 2K5" VP Records have returned to the (digital) classics with "1985 Sleng Teng Extravaganza" it's time for the original producer King Jammy's 2K5 version 'Sleng Teng Ressurection". Only slightly modified in the year of its 20th anniversary, with an additional lick, some horns and digital effects embellished reminiscent of the Biltmore Dub Plate Mix of 'Sleng Teng', this is a heavy scorcher. Bounty leads it off with the tune giving the title to this new selection called "Sleng Teng Ressurection" incorporating (not even needed) snippets of Wayne Smith' original in this absolutely masterful ganja tune. The next ganja tune is the wonderful "High Grade" combining Taz' DJing & Marvelous' sweet singing. Ras Shiloh almost has you look at the credits to ensure Lloyd James didn't find an until now unknown Garnett Silk tune with his "Highest Heavens". More consciousness stems from Bushman on "Darkest Nights" but he is completely outdone by the man with whom he shares the tone of voice and style of delivery Luciano, who chips in with the absolutely brilliant "Dancehall Style". Anthony B's "No Fear" and Hollow Point's "Come In" are fine but unspectacular tunes, followed by another stand-out tune, Ninjaman's Ninja fan get "Mad Again" / just becah Ninjaman a get bad again / DJ get sick / some a dem get sad again / Why? Me take out the DJ rod again on which his lyrics and delivery make you wonder whether he ever really has been away. Jr. Reid brings back memories of old Waterhouse days with his "Don't Dis The Foundation", and Sizzla can't convince as well on 'Sleng Teng' as he does on Don Corleon's riddims for his latest album "Soul Deep" with "Someone Loves You", before DaVille gives a beatiful example of how a lovers tune on 'Sleng Teng' should sound with "Believe In Me". Junior Kelly's "You Look Fine" is an attempt to venture into the falsetto singing Sizzla has now incorporated in his style, alternated with his normal fierce delivery, before Ward 21 make it heard they are still a force to be reckoned with on their excellent "Mr. Murderer". It's a pity that the more than decent tunes "Informer And Spy" by Ricky General, "Residents" by Shaka Pow, "When It Done" by especially known for his Stone Love recordings since 1991 sweet voiced Bobby Crystal and veteran Admiral Bailey's "Gangsta Roll" aren't followed by a clean version. But despite the lack of a clean version, this album is an excellent tribute to the 'Sleng Teng'-riddim that 20 years ago changed the course of dancehall music completely and forever.