Riddim Driven ~ Street Team
VP Records - Groove Attack
January 19, 2010

Vybz Kartel - Riddim Driven (Street Team) Track list
  1. Mocking Bird - Mavado
  2. Stock And Pile - Beenie Man
  3. Dem Fi Gweh - Baby Cham
  4. Street Team - Ding Dong
  5. Stand Alone - Bounty Killer
  6. Sponge - Assassin
  7. Defend Your Own - Fire Links feat. Tony Matterhorn
  8. Lord Ah Your Shepherd - Bugle
  9. Purify - Elephant Man
  10. Something A Go Happen - Vybz Kartel
  11. Service - Voicemail
  12. Lu Lu Bag - Konshens
  13. Mr. Rip Off - Wada & Andrew Blood
  14. Street Team Riddim - Fire Links
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 4-
Very Good -Votes: 0-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 1-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 6
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
VP Records in their Riddim Driven series release this great hardcore dancehall riddim album, the first Riddim Driven album of 2010 returning to the dancefloors, featuring Dane 'Fire Links' Johnson's 'Street Team'-riddim, built by one of the Daseca members (David Harrisingh) - closely resembling the massive 'Good Life'-riddim built by Daseca's Serani for LivUp Records - and providing a perfect uptempo backdrop for the usual suspects from the Jamaican dancehallscene. It's kicked off by Gully's Mavado speaking out against all haters in "Mockingbird" followed by Beenie Man with the equally strong "Stock And Pile" and Baby Cham who only every once in a while takes time to record tunes and seldom for anyone else than Dave Kelly, but here he delivers (the for his standards below par) "Dem Fi Gweh" for Fire Links.

The strong title tune for the "Street Team"-riddim is contributed by Ding Dong before Bounty Killer impresses with "Stand Alone" and Assassin shows once more what a brilliant - unfortunately less prolific - DJ he is with "Sponge". Producer and selector Fire Links teams up with fellow sound system Tony Matterhorn for "Defend Our Own" before Bugle with "Lord Ah Your Shepherd" and Elephant Man with "Purify" both deliver excellent tunes and then of course Vybz Kartel delivers one of the strongest tunes across the 'Street Team'-riddim with his social criticism in "Something Ah Go Happen". The last three vocals on this very strong 'Street Riddim' one-riddim album are Voicemail's "Service", the very entertaining "Lu Lu Bag" by Konshens and "Mr. Rip Off" by Andrew & Wada Blood precede the clean version of the "Street Team Riddim" that luckily has been included. This set is the first of 2010 to spread the hope that it will be just as entertaining in the dancehalls as it has been in 2009! A must buy hardcore dancehall album to kick off 2010.