Various artists album review
Riddim Driven ~ Tai Chi
VP Records-Walboomers Music
22 - 03 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. T.O.K. - Cree
  2. Sean Paul - Time After Time
  3. Ce'Cile - Lift Me Up (& Back Me)
  4. Elephant Man - Walk & Talk
  5. Monster Twins - Gal Weh Tek Yu Man
  6. Chico - Bun Dem
  7. Tanya Stephens - Please Me
  8. Buccaneer - Tragedy
  9. Kiprich - Black Man
  10. Red Rat - Fi Di Gal Dem
  11. Bounty Killer - Good Gal
  12. Wayne Marshall - Need A Girl Tonight
  13. Lady Saw - Yeh Yeh
  14. Mr. Vegas - Buss Di Wine
  15. Mr. Lex aka Lexxus - Can You Hear Me Now / Version
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

In recent years Richard "Shams" Browne - actually a nephew of vet producer Danny Browne - has secured himself a position as one of the leading dancehall producers in Jamaica. He was the man who brought us a batch of successful riddims including "Baddis", "Grass Cyaat", "Gypsy", "Buy Out", "Juice", "Intercourse" and "Real Sex", and now here's his next hit riddim called "Tai Chi". This time Shams has created a laid back funky groove with a guitar hook that sounds closer to a Japanese lute contrasted with a wicked back beat and hard hitting bottom. Cuts across this infectious street beat appeared on 7" singles last year and instantly mashed up dances. Recorded and mixed at B-Rich recording studio (formerly known as Danny Browne's Main Street recording studio) this very enjoyable "riddim driven" set features efforts from alot of big players in today's dancehall competition. Thus you'll find cuts from super group T.O.K., Sean Paul, Ce'Cile, Elephant Man, Bounty Killer and Lexxus, all delivering the highlights of this album. Other notable tracks are Chico's "Bun Dem", Tanya Stephens' "Please Me", Kiprich's "Black Man" and Need A Girl Tonight" by Wayne Marshall.

Teacher & Mr. T.