Various artists album review
Riddim Driven ~ The Wave
VP Records-Walboomers Music
17 - 03 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Capleton - A Nuff A Dem
  2. Elephant Man - Watch We
  3. Mad Cobra - Start It Nuh
  4. Alozade - New Thing
  5. Ward 21 - I Was Weak
  6. Keri - Come Get Me
  7. Harry Toddler - Endorse My Girl
  8. Lexxus - Bwoy Like Me
  9. Determine - Lock Di City
  10. Captain Barkey - Your Hand
  11. Bounty Killer - Sexual Healing
  12. Sizzla - Love So Pure
  13. Mr. Vegas - First Thing First
  14. Frisco Kid - Mad At Them
  15. ARP - Thug Life
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

VP Records' "Riddim Driven" series gives the up-and-coming Blingz Crew production team some exposure on another instalment in this anticipated bashment series. Featured here are fifteen cuts to Blingz Crew's bangin' "Wave" riddim, all released on 7" single later last year on the "Xplicit" label. This infectious mid-tempo bashment riddim with poly-rhythmic keyboard hooks is a wicked dancehall groove, a guaranteed dancefloor filler. All the big dancehall stars are present and correct, lyrically mostly dealing with the usual matters. Only Keri is not as familiar in the dancehall market, but it looks like there's a new female voice to watch 'cause including her tune on this set is no wrong choice at all. The hardcore dancehall fan is treated to a solid collection of tunes with some real exciting vocal performances including Capleton's "A Nuff A Dem aka Think Before You Talk", Elephant Man's "Watch We", Alozade's "New Thing", Ward 21's "I Was Weak", Bounty Killer's "Sexual Healing", Mr. Vegas' "First Thing First" and "Frisco Kid's "Mad At Them".

Teacher & Mr. T.