Various artists album review
Riddim Driven ~ Throw Back
VP Records-Walboomers Music
June 20 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Pallave – Mr. Easy
  2. Stake Vampires – Capleton
  3. Terrorist – Beenie Man
  4. Own Clothes – Elephant Man
  5. Own Place – Mega Banton
  6. Gal Hunt – Voise Mail
  7. Pull It – Spragga Benz
  8. Music – Round Head
  9. Share It – Spice
  10. Dawg Eat Dawg – Ninja Kid
  11. Mo’ Money – Sizzla
  12. Imagine Dis – Beenie Man
  13. Flippin’ – Mr. Lex
  14. Mine Yu –Delly Ranks
  15. Ride – Hot Shot Crew
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

The hotter than hot riddims keep on coming....Here's one of VP Records' latest installments in their popular 'Riddim Driven' series. This album runs down 15 deadly pieces across the "Throw Back" riddim. It comes from the Draw Card Music crew, a collective of studio pros including Ricky Myrie (Adrenaline, Headache and Hurricane riddims) and Howie Pride alongside executive producer Trevor 'Rankin' Rainford.
Celebrating the vibe of a classic 'back in the day' dancehall riddim, the "Throw Back" is a pulsing, mid-tempo riddim with infectious hooks and counter riddims to spare. The pulsating synth based, melodic bounce has definitely nuff nuff dancehall energy and voicing from today’s top deejays. The big tunes on the riddim are Sizzla doing Mo Money, Capleton with Stake Vampires while Mr. Easy does his tune Pallave and Beenie Man with some real back in the day flavor on Terrorist. Spragga Benz delivers a master blaster effort across this infectious top riddim, and Beenie Man's second cut entitled Imagine Dis across the riddim is as good as you would expect from this dancehall veteran. Dancehall princess Spice serves you with Share It, a surprising version of the "Throw Back" riddim. Mr. Lexx comes up with Flippin, a notable effort, well worth spinning repeatedly.
Be warned...dancehall pleasures coming your way!

Teacher & Mr. T.