Various artists album review
Riddim Driven ~ Tiajuana
VP Records-Walboomers Music
April 3 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Do It Right - Bounty Killa Feat.Rik Rok
  2. I've Got Your Man - Lady Saw
  3. Party - Mr.Easy
  4. Da Real Vibe - Elephant Man
  5. Got Girls - Delly & Wayne Anthony
  6. Real Love - Fiona
  7. Mr.Hype - Cobra
  8. Truly Call My Own - Notch
  9. Girl's Calling - Beenie Man
  10. Shake That Rump - Red Rat
  11. Squeeze - Mega Banton
  12. Done Good Already - Bling Dawg
  13. Can I? - Wayne Anthony
  14. I'll Survive - Mr.Vegas
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

"Tiajuana" is the newest dancehall riddim coming from the ever swingin' Playhouse Records production house, which is run by producer Richard "Richie D" Martin. The riddim takes its name from the famous town south of the US border (with an alternate spelling). The riddim itself is built on the rock 'n' roll classic "Tequila" from The Champs. The original instrumental B-side hit the number one spot of the US Billboard chart on March 28, 1958.
The blend of 'Latin' guitar riff and bouncy riddim track driven by synth hand claps, makes a crisp and infectious groove for this selection of deejays and singers to exhibit a variety of flows. Kicking off the deejay attack is Do It Right by the Warlord aka Bounty Killer featuring Rik Rok. Wicked and wild Lady Saw blazes the track with Iíve Got Your Man. On a hip-hop vibe is the track Party! by up and comer Mr. Easy. Standout tunes are Elephant Man's Da Real Vibe, Beenie Man's Girls Callin, Dell & Wayne Anthony's wicked combination track called Got Girls, and the awesome Squeeze, a true killer performed by Mega Banton. Matching cuts come from Mr. Vegas with I'll Survive and Fiona's sultry Real Love, a remake of the Mary J Blige classic. Also worthwhile spinning is Red Rat's Shake That Rump.

Teacher & Mr. T.