Riddim Driven ~ Trippple Bounce
VP Records-Groove Attack
November 20, 2009

Voicemail - Riddim Driven: Trippple Bounce Track list
  1. Hope And Pray - Mavado
  2. Gallis - Mr. Vegas
  3. Nuh Behavior - Voicemail
  4. Anything Goes - Bugle
  5. What Ever Mi Like - Beenie Man
  6. Roll Out - Tony Matterhorn feat. Cutty & QQ
  7. Clap It N Drop It - Chino & Di Genius
  8. Time To Party - Leftside
  9. Running The Place - Laden
  10. Bruk Out - Aidonia
  11. Bicycle - Vybz Kartel
  12. Mr. Officer - Vybz Kartel
  13. Don't Really Care - D'Angel
  14. Mi Nuh Know - Bramma
  15. Wagonist - Esco
  16. Bounce A Bounce - Kari Jess
  17. Independent - Storm & Lisa
  18. Represent - Elephant Man
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 0-
Very Good -Votes: 2-
Good -Votes: 0-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 2
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Going into 2010, with many titles soon expected to be released in several long running VP Records and Greensleeves series, it's time to wrap up the year gone by and a lot of one riddim samplers will be reviewed in the coming weeks. Kicking off this first week of 2010 is amongst other one of the dancehall volumes in VP Records Riddim Driven series, ZJ Chrome's 'Trippple Bounce'-riddim, laid for his Cr2O3 label by Big Ship's Stephen 'Di Genius' McGregor. The name of the riddim is self-explaining, bounce to the ounce, first backing Mavado's strong "Hope & Pray"and then the even better "Gallis" by Mr. Vegas and Voicemail with the very convincing "Nuh Behavior".

A lot of artists that have been a bit less prolific or strong make up for that in this selection, like for example Bugle with the carefree party and streetroll message "Anything Goes", followed by Beenie Man who added another successful (and prolific) year to his career and assures us here he'll do "Whatever Mi Like" and the combination of Tony Matterhorn alongside Cutty & QQ with the bouncing party anthem "Roll Out". That vibe is continued straight when riddim builder 'Di Genius' teams up with his brother Chino for "Clap It N Drop It", the heavily vocodered Leftside with "Time To Party", Big Ship artist Laden with "Running The Place" and Aidonia, one of those picking up speed here again with "Bruk Out".

One of dancehall's best lyricists ever, Gaza and Portmore Empire chief Vybz Kartel delivers two excellent tunes in a row (of course not straight party tunes, but one slack and one ganja-reality tune) "Bicycle" and the brilliant "Mr. Officer". Unfortunately the 18 tunes strong selection does not include a clean riddim version, but especially over such a hype riddim it is remarkable that the other 6 tunes featured are all above par as well, D'Angel with "Don't Really Care", the inexplicably not yet worldwide famous Bramma 'D' Bomma with "Mi Nuh Know", Esco very fine speaking out against "Wagonist", Kari Jess with the tune more or less giving the riddim its name "Bounce A Bounce" and Gaza's Shawn Storm in combination with 'almost scandal of the year' Lisa Hype on "Independent" before the party is brought to an end by Elephant Man who confidentely is the last one to "Represent". Though only recommended to dance to or when you are feeling truly jiggy, this is a great party riddim with lots of strong tunes how such a riddim should be voiced.