Various artists album review
Ready When You Dub Two
Smugg Records
30 - 05 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Danny Dread - Girl Dub
  2. Sugar Minott - Something Dub
  3. Black Roots - Armageddon Dub Realaudio
  4. Bunny Lee - No Dub No Cry
  5. Roots Radics - Crucial Dub
  6. African Brothers - Lead Dub
  7. Black Roots - Struggle Dub
  8. Sugar Minott - Money Dub
  9. Uptempo Players - Wicked Dub
  10. African Brothers - Youths Dub
  11. Uptempo Players - Gone Do Dub
  12. Black Roots - Sufferation
  13. Bunny Lee - Still Dubbing
  14. African Brothers - Sorrow Dub
  15. Sugar Minott - Sista Dub
  16. Bunny Lee - Dreader Dub
  17. Johnny Clarke - Nice Time Dub
  18. African Brothers - How Long Dub
  19. Sugar Minott - Lonely Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4

With their first "Ready When You Dub" set UK based reissue label Smugg Records brought us 19 deadly dub shots. Now they have unleashed another great collection of vintage dub pieces, most likely recorded in the late seventies and early/mid eighties. Although the track listing on the sleeve indicates that there are 20 tracks on this cd, we're treated to a 19 track dub extravaganza, compiled by Simon Smugg, Stephen King and renowned producer Bunny "Striker" Lee. Lovers of Jamaican dub music will surely enjoy full sounding, more subtle dub outings such as "Lead Dub" by the African Brothers as well as dub workouts that have stripped the riddim to their bass and drum components like for example "Crucial Dub" by the Roots Radics, and everything that comes in between. "Ready When You Dub Two" features dub mixes of riddims, but also contains tracks with vocal fading in and out of the mix. Among the delights are wicked and crucial dub classics like Danny Dread's "Girl Dub", Black Roots' "Armageddon Dub Realaudio" (revatilized version of Studio One's "Real Rock"), Roots Radics' "Crucial Dub", Black Roots' "Struggle Dub", and the Sugar Minott dubs "Something Dub", "Money Dub" and "Sista Dub". Also the rest of the material included on this cd deserves attention as is it brings nuff listening pleasure.
Truly a great roundup of dub tracks well worth checking out!!

Teacher & Mr. T.