Various artists album review
Ready When You Ready
Smugg Records
Double CD
03 - 05 - 2002

Tracking list

    Disc 1
  1. Tenor Saw - Golden Hen
  2. Little John - Bubbling Style
  3. Ranking Joe - All Because Of You
  4. Carlton Livingston - Itch It Up Operator
  5. Barry Brown - Shoot Up
  6. Nitty Gritty - Duppy Come Again
  7. Johnny Osbourne - Run
  8. Frankie Paul - Fantastic
  9. Joseph Cotton - Mash Up The Frontline
  10. Junior Reid - Original Foreign Mind
  11. Tenor Saw - Corporal Brown
  12. Booga Minott - Waiting For Your Love
   Disc 2
  1. Horace Andy - Ain't No Sunshine
  2. Barrington Levy - Jah Black
  3. Don Carlos - Thanks & Praise
  4. Sugar Minott - All Kinda People
  5. Anthony Johnson - Too Much Sufferation
  6. African Brothers - Righteous Kingdom
  7. Trevor Junior - What U Gonna Do
  8. Michael Palmer - Run Run
  9. John Holt - Easy Loving
  10. Sugar Minott - False Rumours
  11. Freddie McKay - Someone Is Watching You
  12. Willy Williams - Natty Natty
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4

From the newly formed UK based record label Smugg Records comes this fantastic double cd that collects 24 classic tracks from the late seventies and early/mid eighties, except for The African Brothers' tune Righteous Kingdom, which was recorded in 1971. If we are right, most of these songs were produced by Stephen King from Uptempo Records, in collaboration with Sugar Minott. The double cd offers a varied mixture of roots tunes and lovers rock songs, with the emphasis on singers. Well known hit tunes such as Tenor Saw's Golden Hen, Horace Andy's reworking of Bill Whither's Ain't No Sushine, Michael Palmer's Run Run, Barrington Levy's haunting Jah Black, Little John's dancehall flavored Bubbling Style and Junior Reid's Original Foreign Mind alternate with lesser known gems like William William's Natty Natty, Sugar Minott's All Kinda People across the original Studio riddim track of the Wailing Souls 'Mr.Fire Coal Man', Johnny Osbourne's reworking of Delroy Wilson's Studio One classic 'Run Run', here renamed simply Run, and Ranking Joe's dubbed up lovers tune All Because Of You. All of the tunes found here are top notch vintage songs, and it's quite hard to point out highlights. Here we discovered some tunes we never heard before that made a solid impression on us : Waiting For Your Love from Booga Minott across the Heptones' Studio One classic 'Fight To The Top' riddim, Barry Brown's aggresive Shoot Up and Tenor Saw's Corporal Brown.
This is a great collection of classic reggae cuts!

Teacher & Mr. T.