Various artists album review
Reality Calling Vol. 2
Jet Star
19 - 07 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Freddie McGregor - Weh Dem Tek Wi Fah
  2. Mikey Spice - Give A Little
  3. Nyah - Warn Dem
  4. Osmond Collins - Armageddon
  5. Sandeeno - Warning
  6. Prince Malachi - Jah Order
  7. Colour Red - False Religion
  8. Selah Collins - Must Get Free
  9. Military Man & Capleton - No Time
  10. Queen Omega - Bomb Inna Sodom
  11. Stallion - You're Entitled
  12. Burnin' Soulz - Never Give Up
  13. Abijah - Walk Free
  14. Archie Wonder - Jah Send We Come
  15. Lorna Asher - Champion
  16. Admiral Tibett - Power And Will
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Jet Star has unleashed the second installment in their "Reality Calling" series which focusses on bringing new school roots and culture reggae music from Jamaica and the UK to the massive. "Reality Calling Vol. 2" features well known reggae singers like Freddie McGregor, Mikey Spice, Prince Malachi, and Admiral Tibett alongside promising newcomers such as Nyah, Selah Collins, Archie Wonder and new Xterminator prodigy Abijah. Freddie McGregor and Colour Red, whose Black Ark dub plate "From Creation" has assumed legendary status in reggae circles, established their names during the first wave of serious roots music from Jamaica in the seventies, whilst Stallion, Sandeeno (then performing as the deejay Superman) and the underrated Admiral Tibbett began their careers a decade later. Prince Malachi, Mikey Spice, Capleton and Lorna Asher belong to a a new breed of "roots 'n' culture" oriented singers and deejays/chanters that emerged in the second half of the nineties. Remain lesser known talents such as Nyah, Selah Colins, Archie Wonder, Queen Omega, and a new London based outfit called Burnin' Soulz, as yet trying to gain wider recognition. All the artists gathered on this entertaining compilation set have one thing in common : they sing songs that maintain the true meaning and intention of reggae music as once strongly expressed by Bob Marley, namely protesting against an unjust system, defending human rights, or bringing solace to troubled souls with songs of redemption.
This collection contains some truly notable efforts starting with the album opener "Weh Dem Tek Wi Fah" from Freddie McGregor, an experienced singer who hardly fails to deliver a solid tune. Mikey Spice is one of those rare talents who has proven to be equally at home with matters of the heart and message tunes, as is fully expressed by songs like for example "Ethiopian Here I Come", "Chant Down Babylon" and "Best West Ses". Here he delivers the Michael "Jah Mike" Coburn produced Give A Little", which shows him in fine style and is well worth hearing. Nyah's rich tenor voice has a vulnerability to it that is emotionally charged as can be witnessed while listening to his solid delivery entitled "Warn Dem". Strongly influenced by Luciano, this UK singer will appeal to any reggae fan and we're pretty sure that his forthcoming debut album will definitely put him on the reggae map. Also worth checking are the All Campbell produced "Jah Order" from Prince Malachi and Colour Red's deep roots tune "False Religion". Although relatively unknown to a wide audience, Selah Collins proves a fine singer whose "Must Get Free" is a superb roots piece. Militant Man and Capleton (the latter in devestating form) ride Morgan Heritage's "Help The Needy" riddim for the wicked combination tune "No Time" and a surprisingly strong performance can be heard while playing Stallion's "You're Entitled". With also Abijah's "Walk Free", Archie Wonder's "Jah Send We Come" and Lorna Asher's "Champion" being above par efforts, this collection contains enough niceness to give this CD a try.

Teacher & Mr. T.