Riddim Driven ~ Reflections
VP Records
February 7, 2005

Track list
  1. True Reflections - Jah Cure
  2. Jah Will Help You - Luciano
  3. Jah Will Be There - Junior Kelly
  4. More Strength - Turbulence & Sasha
  5. I'm Free - Frankie Paul
  6. Freedom - Anthony B
  7. Soldiers - To-Isis
  8. Share Love - Ghost
  9. Africa Awaits - Tarrus Riley
  10. Be Strong - Jah Phil
  11. Hold It Out - Bescenta
  12. Free Yourself - Al Barosie *
  13. Real World - Shanita *
  14. Reflections (Instrumental) - Dean Fraser *
  15. Wishes (Letter From The Music) - H.U.S.H. *
  16. Reflections (Version) *

  17. * Denotes CD Bonus Track
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 3 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
This latest album in the VP Records Riddim Driven series "Reflections" contains two versions of the 'True Reflections'-riddim, last year's beautiful big Jah Cure scorcher "True Reflections" a.k.a. "Behind Those Prison Walls" for Downsound Records, and all other tunes over the Moses Productions version of the riddim, that is considerably weaker. The piano dominates the ballad backing with added Dean Fraser saxophone interpunctions, and overall despite the nyahbinghi drums in the background this can hardly be called a riddim. Although Luciano delivers a well sung answer version "Jah Will Help You" even this best of the remaining cuts isn't really grabbing me. Great veteran and upcoming singers are featured on this Moses Productions version of the riddim, but I suspect that all tunes would have made much more impact if they would have been delivered over the more stripped down original version of the riddim that Downsound Records used for their Jah Cure voicing. Disappointing!