Reggae Dishes
Kinyama Sounds
March 29, 2010

Kinyama Sounds - Reggae Dishes Track list
  1. Prince Alla - Downtown
  2. Shan Malaika - Backstabbers
  3. Chezidek - Freedom Is The Song
  4. Charly B - Jah Is My Guide
  5. Rod Taylor & Severine Vaena - I've Been Watching You
  6. Brother Culture - Things To See
  7. Rootwords - All I want
  8. Errol Organs - Children A Play
  9. Severine Vaena - Little Sister
  10. RaldoAsher - Give Thanks & Praises
  11. Kinyama Sounds - Jamaican Sunrise
  12. Rod Taylor - Wanna Be With You
  13. Shan Malaika - Addicted
  14. Brother Culture - Spiritually Equipped
  15. Prince Alla - Some Of Dem
  16. Rootwords - The Cure
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 11-
Very Good -Votes: 3-
Good -Votes: 2-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 16
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Geneva, Switzerland is the home base of the Kinyama Sounds label, which was founded in June 2008 by the Swiss-French production team Nicolas Duboux aka Niko and Stan Breynaert. The latter is a multi-instrumentalist who is not only responsible for creating the riddim tracks, but also takes care of the label's communications, promotions and development, while Niko is the sound engineer who embodies the raw sound of Kinyama (a Swahili adverb which means "like an animal"). Kinyama is first and foremost a reggae label, but it does not limit itself purely to roots music as its sound is heavily influenced by the musical background of its founders. Thus the Kinyama sound incorporates stripped down roots, jazz, pop, soul, and hip hop inspirations.

The label's first compilation "Reggae Dishes" features reggae veterans such as Prince Alla, Rod Taylor and Errol Organs along with contemporary well known artists Chezidek and UK's dub MC Brother Culture as well as relatively unknown names like Swiss reggae singer RaldoAsher, Shan Malaika, Charly B, Severine Vaena, and Swiss hip hop artist of Zambian origin, Rootwords. Prince Alla, actually one of the first artists to record with Niko and Stan during the summer of 2005, contributes two tracks. First there's the album opener, "Downtown", which comes across a solid roots reggae riddim but unfortunately turns out to be an annoying 'reggae, reggae, reggae' song. What is it that some reggae artists (also think of Willi Williams) have a tendency to deliver these kind of useless songs? Luckily the other Prince Alla tune, "Some Of Dem", sees him (lyrically) return to form. Great roots tune with nice female backing vocals over a wicked slow-paced riddim.

Other vet Rod Taylor is also present with two tracks. He treats the listener to songs that deal with matters of the heart, namely the very entertaining "I've Been Watching You", done in combination with sultry voiced Severine Vaena and underpinned by a sparkling riddim, and then the nice "Wanna Be With You" which comes with an old-skool dancehall vibe. Errol Organs, known for a vocal delivery that is strongly reminiscent of Bob Marley, delivers the solid "Children A Play", while Chezidek's "Freedom Is The Song" is definitely one of the standouts. Brother Culture rides the up-tempo "Give A Smile’" riddim in fine style for his "Things To See", while his second track, the solid "Spiritually Equipped", comes across the Ska flavored "Uptown" riddim. When we focus on the songs of the lesser known names featured on this compilation, it's obvious that in particular songstress Severine Vaena and Asher Selector's protégé RaldoAsher are names to watch for in the near future. The only real minor point is the inclusion of tracks from Rootwords. He may be a very talented artist, but his hip hop outings, especially the album closer "The Cure", simply do not fit in with the rest of the album.

Not every track is a winner, but all in all this is a decent compilation set from a production team that undoubtedly will make a name for themselves within today's competitive music scene.