Reggae Dubs And Dabs EP
Dub Rockers
Digital Release
April 20, 2016

Track list
  1. Alborosie feat. Sugus - Fly 420
  2. Raging Fyah - Raggamuffin
  3. Mystic Revealers feat. Chronixx - Herb Must Legalize Now
  4. Fortunate Youth feat. The Green & Marlon Asher - Pass The Herb
  5. Soul Rebel Project - Good Burn
  6. Stick Figure feat. Collie Buddz - Smokin Love
  7. The Movement feat. Collie Buddz & Bobby Hustle - Habit 2016
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5
Dub Rockers is a New York & California based record label focused on the progression of reggae, a partnership between California based shoe label Vans and the New York based reggae company VP Records. Their first release at the end of 2013 was a compilation set called "Dub Rockers" and now it's time for a new EP, "Reggae Dubs and Dabs". 'Dabs' are concentrated cannabis extracts that get you really high really fast.

It's a 7-track EP of smoker anthems in celebration of the 4/20 holiday. It seems like no one really knows the story behind how 4/20 originated into a nationally celebrated weed smokers holiday. Some say that 420 quite simply translates to "weed." One popular urban legend maintains that the term originated because there are 420 chemical compounds found in cannabis, while another claims it was some secret police code used to indicate the presence of marijuana. A more popular story points to a northern California high school in the early 1970s, where weed-loving students would light up after class at around 4:20 in the afternoon. Today, it's used as a symbol for weed appreciation — making April 20th the perfect day to celebrate the love for ganja.

The EP lists a mixture of reggae artists from the US, Europe and the Caribbean. The album opens majestically with Italian/Jamaican reggae star Alborosie. "Fly 420" is a heavy, dubstep influenced, track featuring Sugus. It's a tune from his new studio album "Freedom & Fyah", out 20 May 2016. Out of Kingston comes Raging Fyah, a celebrated self-contained reggae band. "Raggamuffin" is an awesome retro-styled, drum 'n bass tune, that demands immediate rewind! The track is also included on their upcoming album "Everlasting". Jamaican reggae legends Mystic Revealers and today's hottest reggae singer Chronixx team up for "Herb Must Legalize Now", a musical demand for the legalisation of weed. Next tune, "Pass The Herb”, is performed by Fortunate Youth helped by The Green & Marlon 'Ganja Farmer' Asher. The tune comes from their album "Don't Think Twice" and hit the charts last year. Out of Massachusetts comes Soul Rebel with "Good Burn", a little overdone rock influenced tune from their 2014 set "Higher Place". Over to Collie Budzz who joins Stick Figure, who definitely wants to get high. Collie Buddz is also present on the closing track by The Movement. Bobby Hustle is also on that track which is an updated version of "Habit", a song that was released in 2008. Great tune!

Light it up and play it loud!