Various artists album review
Regggae Gold 1999
VP Records
24 - 07 - 1999

Tracking list

  1. Beres Hammond & Buju Banton - Pull It Up
  2. Beenie Man - Better Learn
  3. Sean Paul & Mr. Vegas - Haffi Get Da Gal Yah
  4. Machel Montano - Big Phat Fish
  5. Morgan Heritage - Don't Haffi Dread
  6. Mr. Vegas - Heads High (Kill Dem Wid It)
  7. Zebra - Unfair
  8. Mr. Vegas - Wave
  9. Bounty Killer - Psycho Med
  10. Buccaneer - Soconuma Clash
  11. Luciano & Sizzla - Jah Blessing
  12. Capleton - Jah Jah City
  13. Tanto Metro & Devonte (Featuring Mega Banton) - Big Up Status
  14. Sanchez - Always Be True To You
  15. Lady Saw & T.O.K. - Hardcore Lover
  16. Ward 21 - Haters
  17. Luciano - Good Times
  18. Fiona & Brian Gold - From This Moment On
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Throughout the years the "Reggae Gold" series has grown to a top-quality level and has become an essential purchase as it keeps reggae fans updated with the newest aspects in the reggae music. Since its inception the series has always given reggae & dancehall lovers the best hits and this latest volume is no exception to it.
Reggae Gold 1999 is a satifying mixture of cultural tunes, ragga sides and lovers rock songs performed by today's best and freshest dj's and singers on all of the hottest riddims of this year. Featured here are superb cultural outings by Luciano -Good Things and Jah Blessing- the latter alongside cultural dj Sizzla. Morgan Heritage deliver the title track of their latest hit album Don' Haffe Dread . Capleton does Jah Jah City which is drawn from the splendid one-riddim album Morgan Heritage Family & Friends Vol. 1 .
The albums opens with David Rodigan's actual favorite track, the combination Beres Hammond and Buju Banton with Pull It Up. Lovers rock tunes are Sanchez' Always Be True To You and the combination Fiona and Brian Gold with From This Moment On taken from her album Fiona's Moment .
The rest of the tracks are hot dancehall cuts by the prolific and new dancehall sensation of 1998, Mr. Vegas who performs some of his biggest hits like Wave, Heads High (remix), and Haffi Get Da Gal Yah the latter alongside Sean Paul. Furthermore you'll find Bounty Killer here with a psychotic remix -Psycho Med- on the King Jammy's Bada Bada riddim. Ward 21 rides the same riddim on Haters. T.O.K. featuring Lady Saw are made to work together and they do not dissapoint in their reworking of Stevie Wonder's 'Part Time Lover', retitled Hardcore Lover
Almost every cut found here is a winner, so if you wanna hear good fresh music, here it is.

Teacher & Mr. T.