Various artists album review
ReggaeBlitz All Stars
Music Blitz

Tracking list

  1. Andrew Tosh - Payday
  2. Third World - Dread Eyes
  3. Big Mountain - Roots Of The Matter
  4. Black Uhuru - Justice
  5. Bob Marley - What Goes Around Comes Around
  6. Gregory Isaacs - Simple Prescription
  7. Reggae Blitz All Stars - What You See Is What You Get
  8. Junior Reid - What If
  9. Mighty Diamonds - So Life Goes
  10. Michael Rose - Bad Luck
  11. Pato Banton & The Reggae Revolution - Stay Positive
  12. Yellowman - War, War, War
  13. Toots & The Maytals - Sometime It's Rough
  14. Maxi Priest - Boomerang
  15. Shabba Ranks - Who Got The Money
  16. Wailing Souls - The Underdog
  17. Yellowman - War, War, War (Dub Outro)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

The compilation set "Reggae Blitz All Stars" was executive produced by Wayne Jobson aka Native Wayne, whose involvement with Reggae can be traced back to his youth in Ocho Rios, Jamaica. When he moved to the US he promoted his beloved Reggae music through his successful and long running show on LA's influential alternative rock station KROQ, "Reggae Revolution". Jobson's vision for this "ReggaeBlitz All Stars" project is simple and unique as well : 'revisit the idea of strong songwriting'. The artists that were approached to contribute to the album were asked to write a great song, and if one couldn't come up with a great song, Jobson told them he would find one. That's why the album was produced, and many of the songs were co-written by Richard Feldman, a well known Los Angeles based producer and songwriter, who has received two Grammy nominations for his work with the Wailing Souls.
"ReggaeBlitz All Stars" is a well varied, mainly roots oriented set, collecting efforts from mostly well known Reggae artists, who have succeeded to establish their name among Reggae followers. Their music will always be an essential part of Reggae history, thus expressing the importance of the role they have in the history of Reggae music. The album collects fifteen well executed tracks, entertaining and accessible for a wide audience. All riddim tracks are fresh originals, played "live" by such topnotch musicians as Sly & Robbie, Cat Coore, Fabian Cooke, Winston Grennan, Santa Davis and Robbie Lyn, to name but a few. All songs included are brand-new and expressly produced for this set, with the exception of Bob Marley's "What Goes Around Comes Around", which was originally recorded for JAD Records.
The standout tracks are : Gregory Isaacs' "Simple Prescription", delivered in the Cool Ruler's inimitable style, the Mighty Diamonds' smooth and soulful "So Life Goes", the wicked "Bad Luck" by Michael Rose, and the excellent "Sometime It's Rough" from Toots & the Maytals. But also the rest of this compilation set contains 'nuff niceness', so listening pleasure is guaranteed!

Teacher & Mr. T.