Various artists album review
Reggae For Jesus
ERC Records
28 - 04 - 2001

Tracking list

  1. Word - It's Me Again Father
  2. Anthony Cruz - Who?
  3. Glen Washington - Fervent Prayer
  4. Richie Stephens - Heavenly Father
  5. Chevelle Franklin - Jesus It's You
  6. Luciano - I'll Follow Thee
  7. Singing Melody & Tony Curtis - I Thank You Lord
  8. Horado - Worthy
  9. Patrick Junior - Jesus Is The Same
  10. Pinchers - His Love
  11. Nana McLean - Man From Galilee
  12. Spanner Banner - Remember Jah Words
  13. George Nooks - He Is The Light
  14. Ernie Smith - All For Jesus
  15. Stevie Face - Thank You
  16. Chevelle Franklin - Jesus It's You (Acapella)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Following up last year's excellent one riddim set "Millennium Taxi" and "Twelve Disciples" New York-based record label ERC (Ejaness Reggae Comprehensive) unleashes its fourth compilation set entitled "Reggae For Jesus". The release of this album comes at - what seems to be - the heights of the reggae gospel music explosion, which recently brought the reggae world such albums like for example "Yow! Reggae Gospel", "Dancehall Baptism" and Barbara Jones' "Jesus Is Calling". Although it's obvious that a reggae gospel album will not appeal to every reggae fan, this set features some fine musical moments, even for those who are irreligious. "Reggae For Jesus" is packed with spiritual and soulful reggae music, delivered by some great vocalists and mainly produced by young budding producer talent Mark Hudson of Stone Cold Records with additional production work of Vasco Carney, Anthony O'Meally, E. Hutton, Mikey Mao Chung and Mikey Bennett.
The first track features the unknown vocal group Word with an acapella version of Luciano's "It's Me Again Jah Jah" retitled "It's Me Again Father". A fine piece delivered by some great voices. Then up-and-coming singer Anthony Cruz with a standout effort over a great uptempo riddim, laid by Barry O'Hare and the Stone Cold Crew. Next pieces for the riddim are delivered by Chevelle Franklin, Horado, Pinchers and George Nooks. The latter's "He Is The Light" is a solid tune, showcasing the mellow voice and smooth styling of veteran singer George Nooks to full effect. The high prolific Glen Washington contributes the excellent "Fervent Prayer", which he recorded with the Ruff Stuff Band for producer Anthony O'Meally. Richie Stephens vocally shines in the standout tune "Heavenly Father" which utilizes a revitalized Studio One riddim, again expertly laid by Barry O'Hare and the Stone Cold Crew. Other decent pieces for the riddim are voiced by Spanner Banner and the combination Singing Melody & Tony Curtis. Among the remaining tracks one definitely has to check Luciano's "I'll Follow Thee" (over the "Millennium Taxi" riddim) and Patrick Junior's "Jesus Is The Same", actually a cut utilizing Beres Hammond's much anticipated "They're Gonna Talk" riddim.

Teacher & Mr. T.